The End of Magic

The End of Magic

4.07 (117 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Two powerful mages. One steeped in privilege, the other bound by a moral code. Their world is thrown into chaos by the end of magic.

Rosheen Katell is a wandering mage and, with Anzu her griffin, she's worked hard to build a reputation as a trustworthy truth seer. She never lies, never kills.
Sander Bree is a royal mage. He lives an easy life advising the king on matters of court and politics, but dreams of an apocalypse are giving him massive anxiety attacks.
Very soon, their magic will be gone. A cataclysmic event will change their lives and world forever. Sander must keep a promise to save the life of a young girl that would have been difficult enough with magic, but is a suicide mission without it. Rosheen is forced to side with a murderous warlord, and her once-solid principles are tested and found wanting. Both will be set against one another in a war unlike anything the world has seen before, in this sweeping fantasy of magic's ending.
A stand alone fantasy novel for readers of Joe Abercrombie and Scott Lynch



**
"The sort of book you give to people who say "prove to me why I should read fantasy"... A simply terrific read." - James Barclay, author of the Legends of the Raven series



"Mark Stay paints his world and characters with deft, confident and dark strokes." - RJ Barker, author of the Wounded Kingdom Trilogy



"The sort of book you give to people who say "prove to me why I should read fantasy"... A simply terrific read." - James Barclay, author of the Legends of the Raven series



"Takes the tropes of high fantasy and uses them to wield an original, compelling and intricately plotted story... exactly the kind of fantasy that we need more of." - Gavin G. Smith, author of the Veteran series



"Stay does for George RR Martin what Pratchett did for Tolkien." - Julian Barr, author of The Way Home

"The End of Magic has one of the most compelling narratives as well as a strong authorial voice." Amazon UK Reviewer



"Like Game of Thrones without the boobs!" - Amazon UK Reviewer



"This was a blast, hints of Joe Abercrombie's books and his dark humour, but presented in a world in chaos." - Amazon UK Reviewer



"The most fun I've had reading a fantasy novel since Red Country by Joe Abercrombie." - Amazon UK Reviewer



"This book grabbed me in the first couple of pages... Couldn't stop. Really want more!" - Amazon UK Reviewer



"I may never forgive the author for that (spoiler) death scene... *When you read it you'll understand* Rarely have I shed tears so early on in a book." - Amazon UK Reviewer

"A fun and intense read." - Amazon UK Reviewer

"A fresh take on the perennial story of the golden catastrophe/age. The author has created a completely authentic fantasy world." - Amazon UK Reviewer

"Normal fantasy conventions are distorted, magic is not dependable and there are evil, bloodthirsty villains at work." - Amazon UK Reviewer

"The humour in the writing offset the blood and gore that featured throughout." - Amazon UK Reviewer

"The author effortlessly creates a world that is both wonderfully fantastical and at the same time strangely real." - Amazon UK Reviewer

"Gripping and entertaining." - Amazon UK Reviewer
show more

Product details

  • Paperback
  • 135 x 216 x 31mm | 430g
  • Unbound Digital
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1789650046
  • 9781789650044
  • 958,614

About Mark Stay

Mark co-wrote the movie ROBOT OVERLORDS with director Jon Wright, which was selected for the 58th BFI London Film Festival, he also wrote the film's novelisation which was published by Gollancz to critical acclaim. Mark is also co-presenter of The Bestseller Experiment podcast, where he and Mark Desvaux challenged themselves to write a Kindle bestseller in 12 months. Their novel, BACK TO REALITY, was an international bestseller in 10 categories.

Born in London, he now lives in Kent (it's the law, apparently) with writer and Youtube gardener Claire Burgess, their kids, several chickens and a murderous fish.
show more

Rating details

117 ratings
4.07 out of 5 stars
5 37% (43)
4 38% (44)
3 22% (26)
2 3% (4)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X