The Dressmaker's Dowry
32%
off

The Dressmaker's Dowry : A Novel

3.69 (885 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

For readers of Lucinda Riley, Sarah Jio, or Susan Meissner, this gripping historical debut novel tells the story of two women: one, an immigrant seamstress who disappears from San Francisco's gritty streets in 1876, and the other, a young woman in present day who must delve into the secrets of her husband's wealthy family only to discover that she and the missing dressmaker might be connected in unexpected ways.An exquisite ring, passed down through generations, connects two women who learn that love is a choice, and forgiveness is the key to freedom...San Francisco: 1876Immigrant dressmakers Hannelore Schaeffer and Margaret O'Brien struggle to provide food for their siblings, while mending delicate clothing for the city's most affluent ladies. When wealthy Lucas Havensworth enters the shop, Hanna's future is altered forever. With Margaret's encouragement and the power of a borrowed green dress, Hanna dares to see herself as worthy of him. Then Margaret disappears, and Hanna turns to Lucas. Braving the gritty streets of the Barbary Coast and daring to enter the mansions of Nob Hill, Hanna stumbles upon Margaret's fate, forcing her to make a devastating decision...one that will echo through the generations.San Francisco: Present DayIn her elegant Marina apartment overlooking the Golden Gate Bridge, Sarah Havensworth struggles to complete the novel she quit her job for. Afraid to tell her husband of her writer's block, Sarah is also hiding a darker secret-one that has haunted her for 14 years. Then a news headline from 1876 sparks inspiration: Missing Dressmakers Believed to be Murdered. Compelled to discover what happened to Hannelore and Margaret, Sarah returns to her roots as a journalist. Will her beautiful heirloom engagement ring uncover a connection to Hanna Schaeffer?show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 135 x 203 x 16mm | 278g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • William Morrow Paperbacks
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062469835
  • 9780062469830
  • 336,923

Review quote

"In this deliciously satisfying tale of love and resilience, Meredith Jaeger sweeps us into nineteenth century San Francisco, painting harrowing images of poverty alongside excesses of wealth, weaving a multi-generational novel impossible to put down." -- Lori Nelson Spielman, New York Times bestselling author of The Life List and Sweet Forgiveness "Meredith Jaeger deftly intertwines two tales of love and loyalty and the vast lengths to which some will go to protect those they hold dear. A compelling debut novel that sent me racing to its final, revealing pages." -- Kristina McMorris, New York Times bestselling author of The Edge of Lost Kristina McMorris, New York Times bestselling author of The Edge of Lost Kristina McMorris, New York Times bestselling author of The Edge of Lost Kristina McMorris, Ne "Jaeger's debut sends readers quickly and completely into San Francisco's history. Hanna, Margaret, and Sarah are the perfect storytellers, young women determined to find their place in the world. This gripping read is a satisfying exploration of the timeless nature of love and resilience." -- Booklist (starred review) "Jaeger weaves her mystery over two timelines, luring the reader into a riveting tale of intrigue and suspense. Blending the past and present together through strong descriptions and colorful, exciting characters, Jaeger creates an engrossing novel. Readers will be captivated by her voice, that of a good old-fashioned storyteller." -- RT Book Reviewsshow more

Back cover copy

An exquisite ring, passed down through generations, connects two women who learn that love is a choice and forgiveness is the key to freedom . . . In 1876, San Francisco is a city divided. Affluent ladies and gentlemen alight from carriages on their way to the opera, while rowdy sailors and saloon girls roam the dockside. And two young seamstresses, Hannelore and Margaret, repair beautiful dresses they'll never get the chance to wear. Then Margaret disappears, leaving Hanna to brave the gritty streets of the Barbary Coast in search of her friend. With the help of wealthy Lucas Havensworth, Hanna stumbles upon Margaret's fate, forcing her to make a devastating decision that will echo through generations. With a tech boom rivaling the gold rush, present-day San Francisco remains a tale of two cities. When former journalist Sarah marries into the socially prominent Havensworth family, she strives to fit into a world of charity balls and luncheons. Struggling to finish her novel, she unearths an old newspaper headline: Missing Dressmakers Believed to Be Murdered. Inspired at last, Sarah becomes determined to learn the truth behind what happened to Hanna and Margaret . . . and discovers an unsettling connection to the missing women.show more

About Meredith Jaeger

Meredith Jaeger was born and raised in the San Francisco Bay Area, the daughter of a Swiss father and an American mother. While working for a San Francisco start-up, Meredith fulfilled her dream of writing a novel, the result of which was The Dressmaker,s Dowry. Meredith lives in Alameda with her husband, their infant daughter, and their bulldog.show more

Review Text

"In this deliciously satisfying tale of love and resilience, Meredith Jaeger sweeps us into nineteenth century San Francisco, painting harrowing images of poverty alongside excesses of wealth, weaving a multi-generational novel impossible to put down." Lori Nelson Spielman, New York Times bestselling author of The Life List and Sweet Forgivenessshow more

Rating details

885 ratings
3.69 out of 5 stars
5 23% (203)
4 38% (337)
3 28% (244)
2 9% (77)
1 3% (24)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X