The Curse of Morton Abbey
8%
off

The Curse of Morton Abbey

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available soon, pre-order now.
When will my order arrive?

Description

Jane Eyre meets The Secret Garden in this gothic novel of romantic suspense set in 1890s Yorkshire.




Solicitor Vaughan Springthorpe knows perfectly well that Sir Peter Spencer's offer of employment seems too good to be true: he hires her sight unseen, offering a suspiciously large salary to prepare the sale of Morton Abbey, his crumbling Yorkshire estate. But few people in late-Victorian England will entrust their legal affairs to a woman, and Vaughan is desperate to prove herself.



Once at Morton, Vaughan discovers that someone is determined to drive her away. An intruder tries to enter her bedroom at night, gunshots are fired outside her window, and an eerie crying echoes from the uninhabited second floor. Even Netherton, the nearest village, seems odd: the picturesque houses and perfect-looking families are haunted by dark secrets connected to Morton Abbey itself.



To complete her work and solve the mystery at the heart of Morton, Vaughan needs the help of Joe Dixon, the handsome gardener, and Nicholas Spencer, her employer's irascible invalid brother. But with her questions diverted, her progress thwarted, and her sleep disrupted by the crying, will Vaughan escape Morton Abbey with her sanity intact or be cursed by the secrets within?
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 140 x 216 x 22mm | 485g
  • English
  • 1777736900
  • 9781777736903
  • 1,329,468

Review quote

"Clarissa Harwood's latest is Jane Eyre meets The Secret Garden. A resourceful heroine, a gloomy manor, and a dark secret to uncover-who could ask for anything more? The Curse of Morton Abbey is a terrific gothic romp of a novel!"

- Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Rose Code



"The Curse of Morton Abbey is a delightfully spooky and wonderfully atmospheric gothic novel. Clarissa Harwood's firm grasp of Victorian history manifests itself in note-perfect period detail. Reminiscent of the works of Charlotte Brontë and Frances Hodgson Burnett, this story contains everything I love best about the genre. Highly recommended."

- Mimi Matthews, USA Today bestselling author



"A pacey Victorian Gothic full of suspense, romance, and a refreshing amount of feminist sensibility. A resounding five stars!"

- Terry Lynn Thomas, USA Today bestselling author of The Silent Woman, The Family Secret, and House of Lies



"A beautiful blend of history, romance, and mystery, with a hauntingly gothic spirit."

- Dianne Freeman, Agatha and Lefty Award-winning author of the Countess of Harleigh mystery series



"Clarissa Harwood proves herself to be a mistress of romantic suspense in The Curse of Morton Abbey, a delectably gothic page-turner. With echoes of The Secret Garden and the Brontës, The Curse of Morton Abbey will keep you reading late into the night to uncover its dark final twists. Fans of Hester Fox and Mimi Matthews will want to devour this one!"

- Kris Waldherr, author of The Lost History of Dreams and Doomed Queens



"Like the bare branch of a tree tapping on a nighttime window, this absorbing novel shivers with mystery and romantic possibility. Clarissa Harwood has created a gothic wonder, a captivating novel filled with secrets, betrayal, and the echo of invisible footsteps down a dark corridor. This book is a delight."

- Carrie Callaghan, author of A Light of Her Own and Salt the Snow



"A perfectly ominous and enthralling page-turner of a mystery, The Curse of Morton Abbey is an exquisite mix of Edgar Allan Poe and Jane Eyre. You won't be able to put it down until you've pursued the sinister labyrinth of the story through each increasingly dark twist and turn, and come to the explosive, astonishing end."

- Lauren Sapala, author of The INFJ Writer and West is San Francisco
show more