The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time : Vintage Children's Classics

3.87 (1,057,801 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?


'Lots of things are mysteries. But that doesn't mean there isn't an answer to them'

This is Christopher's murder mystery story. There are also no lies in this story because Christopher can't tell lies. Christopher does not like strangers or the colours yellow or brown or being touched. On the other hand, he knows all the countries in the world and their capital cities and every prime number up to 7507. When Christopher decides to find out who killed the neighbour's dog, his mystery story becomes more complicated than he could have ever predicted.

BACKSTORY: Meet the author and learn about the background to Christopher's story.
show more

Product details

  • 12+
  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 129 x 188 x 19mm | 202g
  • Vintage Children's Classics
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0099572834
  • 9780099572831
  • 8,031

Review Text

"Superbly realised. A funny as well as a sad book. Brilliant"
show more

Review quote

"Wondrous...brilliantly inventive...dazzling. Not simply the most original novel I've read in years - it's also one of the best" * The Times * "Exceptional by any standards. Both funny and deeply moving" * Sunday Telegraph * "Outstanding. Heartening as well as richly entertaining. A stunningly good read" * Independent * "Superbly realised. A funny as well as a sad book. Brilliant" * Guardian * "A remarkable book. An impressive achievement and a rewarding read" * Time Out *
show more

About Mark Haddon

Mark Haddon is a writer and artist. His bestselling novel, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, was published simultaneously by Jonathan Cape and David Fickling in 2003. It won seventeen literary prizes, including the Whitbread Award. In 2012, a stage adaptation by Simon Stephens was produced by the National Theatre and went on to win 7 Olivier Awards in 2013 and the 2015 Tony Award for Best Play. In 2005 his poetry collection, The Talking Horse and the Sad Girl and the Village Under the Sea, was published by Picador, and his play, Polar Bears, was produced by the Donmar Warehouse in 2010. His most recent novel, The Red House, was published by Jonathan Cape in 2012. The Pier Falls, a collection of short stories, was also published by Cape in 2016. To commemorate the centenary of the Hogarth Press he wrote and illustrated a short story that appeared alongside Virginia Woolf's first story for the press in Two Stories (Hogarth, 2017).
show more

Rating details

1,057,801 ratings
3.87 out of 5 stars
5 30% (312,165)
4 39% (409,298)
3 23% (247,070)
2 6% (65,249)
1 2% (24,019)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X