The Cruelest Mercy
7%
off

The Cruelest Mercy

4.08 (1,004 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 7-12 business days.
Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

In this sequel to The Kinder Poison--which People magazine proclaimed a delicious high-stakes adventure--the magical kingdom of Orkena is on the brink of war, and the only person who can save it is Zahru, the girl they once doomed to death.

After surviving the Crossing, Zahru has sworn off adventures. While Crown Prince Jet navigates the looming threat of war, she's content to simply figure out what the future holds for them. But they're dealt a devastating blow when prince Kasta returns with a shocking claim: he's the true winner of the Crossing and the rightful heir, and he bears the gods' mark as proof. Even more surprising--he's not the only one.

Somehow, Zahru possesses the very same mark, giving her equal right to the throne. The last thing she wants is to rule beside her would-be executioner, but she can't let Orkena fall into his merciless hands. So Zahru, Jet, and their allies must race against the clock to find a way to stop Kasta, because once he's crowned, there's no telling what horrors he'll unleash to win the war.

Zahru will do whatever it takes to keep Kasta from taking the throne...but to stop a villain, is she willing to become one herself?
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 384 pages
  • 146 x 217 x 31mm | 496g
  • Razorbill
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1984835246
  • 9781984835246
  • 23,408

Review quote

PRAISE FOR THE CRUELEST MERCY


★ In this charming, well-rounded follow-up to The Kinder Poison, Zahru's entertaining, funny narrative voice continues to engage and balance out the otherwise heavier tone of a story that deals with power dynamics, dark magic, horrific betrayals, and social injustice and that offers a thoughtful examination of just what a ruler should be willing to sacrifice for the greater good. A fantastically rewarding sequel. --Kirkus, starred review
PRAISE FOR THE KINDER POISON

★ Mae has crafted a fascinating world with a unique magic structure that is wholly believable because of the vibrant characters within it. With characters to love, to hate, and to love to hate, plus a plot full of adventure skillfully woven with suspense, this is a must-purchase. --SLJ, starred review

★ Zahru's unexpectedly humorous inner voice, the rich worldbuilding full of political intrigue, a slow-burning romance, and a fantastic set of well-developed characters (both friends and foes) mark this exciting and refreshing tale of power and accountability. A funny, rewarding story for fans of optimistic tales with a bite. --Kirkus, starred review

"The Kinder Poison delivers a deadly dose of danger and ancient magic in a cleverly penned fantasy, perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes or Three Dark Crowns. Like a coiled snake, it's full of wicked surprises." --Colleen Oakes, bestselling author of the Queen of Hearts series

"A heartfelt, magical tale that swept me away like a desert storm." --Brenda Drake, New York Times bestselling author of Thief of Lies

"A captivating tale of duty versus dreams, woven through with a unique system of magic and a push-pull romance that will have you demanding the sequel. Magically seductive!" --Lori Goldstein, author of Screen Queens and Becoming Jinn

"The best fantasy I've read in years. The Kinder Poison will grip you from the very first page and refuse to let go, sweeping you into an unforgettable adventure." --Chelsea Bobulski, author of Remember Me

A thrilling trip across sandswept dunes with a shocking ending that points to a dramatic sequel. --BCCB

A great cross-country race, sibling rivalry, magic gifts (or lack thereof), and unlikely love all come together in a delicious stew of adventure. --Booklist

The engaging cast stands out, especially the antagonists, whose well-developed backgrounds ensure sustained narrative tension. Zahru's amusing mental dialogue and nascent romance complement the fast-paced plot, resulting in an entertaining duology opener. --Publishers Weekly
show more

About Natalie Mae

Natalie Mae is an ex-programmer, a dark chocolate enthusiast, and an author of young adult novels. She has also been a freelance editor and a Pitch Wars mentor, and she feels it notable to mention she once held a job where she had to feed spiders. When not writing, she can be found wandering the Colorado wilderness with her family. Find her on Twitter and Instagram @ByNatalieMae, and online at nataliemaebooks.com.
show more

Rating details

1,004 ratings
4.08 out of 5 stars
5 38% (384)
4 38% (380)
3 19% (193)
2 3% (30)
1 2% (17)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X