The Coral Bride
5%
off

The Coral Bride

4.08 (437 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 5-10 business days.
Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

In this beautiful, lyrical sequel to the critically acclaimed We Were the Salt of the Sea, Detective Morales finds that a seemingly straightforward search for a missing fisherwoman off Quebec's Gaspe Peninsula is anything but...

**SHORTLISTED for Crime Writers of Canada: Best French Crime Novel**

**LONGLISTED for the CWA International Dagger**

**NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER**

'A riveting story of old enmities, jealousies and friendships that come to light after a woman goes missing in a remote fishing village beautifully atmospheric' Gill Paul

'A haunting murder mystery about how human nature is every bit as dangerous and inscrutable as the sea draws out its suspense to the very last moment' Foreword Reviews

_________________

It's not just the sea that holds secrets

When an abandoned lobster trawler is found adrift off the coast of Quebec's Gaspe Peninsula, DS Joaquin Morales begins a straightforward search for the boat's missing captain, Angel Roberts a rare female in a male-dominated world. But Morales finds himself blocked at every turn by his police colleagues, by fisheries bureaucrats, and by his grown-up son, who has turned up at his door with a host of his own personal problems.

When Angel's body is finally discovered, it's clear something very sinister is afoot, and Morales and son are pulled into murky, dangerous waters, where old resentments run deep.

Exquisitely written, with Bouchard's trademark lyrical prose, The Coral Bride evokes the power of the sea on the communities who depend on it, the never-ending struggle between the generations, and an extraordinary mystery at the heart of both.

For fans of Ann Cleeves, Annie Proulx, Emma Stonex, Louise Penny and Jane Harper

_________________

'A police procedural like no other marvel at the clever plotting' Crime Fiction Lover

'An absolute joy to read, with as much tension as there is poetry' Le Journal de Montreal

'With a cast of characters you'll engage with and love and a mystery that will have you on edge, Bouchard pulls you into her world wonderful' Michael J. Malone

'Roxanne Bouchard is reinventing the crime novel' Quebec TV

'Emotive and tragically beautiful' Jen Med's Book Reviews

'This is a crime novel but it is also a story about fathers and sons, of strangers in a new land and of women in a man's world a work of distinction' Live & Deadly

'The captivating investigation also conjures up the tides and their mysteries, following the rhythm of the region, the icy course of its autumn tide' Le Devoir

'Beautiful, readable, unforgettable' From Belgium with Booklove

'Characters so vivid, you can hear their voices' The Reading Closet

Praise for Roxanne Bouchard:

'Lyrical and elegiac, full of quirks and twists' William Ryan

'Asks questions right from page one' Quentin Bates

'An isolated Canadian fishing community, a missing mother, and some lovely prose. Very impressed by this debut so far' Eva Dolan

'A tour de force of both writing and translation' Su Bristow

'The translation from French has retained a dreamily poetic cast to the language, but it's det-fic for all that ' Sunday Times

'Characters are well-drawn, from Morales, the cop, and his sturdy inspector, Marlene, to the husky fishermen who were Marie's devoted suitors three decades ago ... An exotic curiosity, raw nugget' Shots Mag
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 300 pages
  • 130 x 198 x 33.02mm | 430.91g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Translation
  • 1913193322
  • 9781913193324
  • 932,909

Review quote

"Refreshingly different, unpredictable, yet deeply rich and touching, it became a part of me." --LoveReading
show more

About Roxanne Bouchard

Ten years or so ago, Roxanne Bouchard decided it was time she found her sea legs. So she learned to sail, first on the St Lawrence River, before taking to the open waters off the Gaspe Peninsula. The local fishermen soon invited her aboard to reel in their lobster nets, and Roxanne saw for herself that the sunrise over Bonaventure never lies. We Were the Salt of the Sea is her fifth novel, and her first to be translated into English. She lives in Quebec.
Follow Roxanne on Twitter @RBouchard72 and on her website: roxannebouchard.com
show more

Rating details

437 ratings
4.08 out of 5 stars
5 30% (132)
4 51% (222)
3 16% (71)
2 3% (11)
1 0% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X