The City's Son
7%
off

The City's Son : in hidden London you'll find marvels, magic . . . and menace

3.59 (1,592 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

'An impeccably dark parable, endlessly inventive and utterly compelling' M R Carey, author of The Girl with all the Gifts

Beth's world is falling apart. Then she discovers a hidden London, full of marvels, magic . . . and menace. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere.

Hidden under the surface of everyday London is a city where wild train spirits stampede over the tracks and glass-skinned dancers with glowing veins light the streets.

When a devastating betrayal drives her from her home, Beth stumbles into the secret city, where she finds Filius Viae, London's ragged crown prince, just when he needs someone the most. For an ancient enemy has returned to the darkness under St Paul's Cathedral, bent on reigniting a centuries-old war. Desperate to find a way to save the city they both love, they find themselves in a desperate race through this bizarre urban wonderland, but when Beth's best friend is captured, she must choose between this wondrous existence and the life she left behind.

The City's Son is the first book of The Skyscraper Throne trilogy: a story about family, friends and monsters, and how you can't always tell which is which.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 422 pages
  • 140 x 202 x 30mm | 322g
  • Jo Fletcher Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1780870094
  • 9781780870090
  • 272,708

Review quote

Pollock's imagined London is intense and absorbing, and The City's Son is an urban fantasy in the truest sense of the word, intent on imbuing every corner of the city with life, wonder and magic * The Guardian * An impeccably dark parable, endlessly inventive and utterly compelling * Mike Carey, author of The Girl with all the Gifts * Vivid, inventive - and truly weird * Daily Mail * Gorgeously written and brimming with bizarre urban creatures, this darkly imagined and sometimes painful tale should delight fans of Neil Gaiman, China Mieville, and Holly Black * Publishers Weekly, Starred Review * Hugely inventive in his world-building . . . following in the tradition of authors like Neil Gaiman and China Mieville * SFX * Everything the genre should be . . . you need to read this book. It is intelligent, true to its genre, and the most fun thing I've read this fall * San Francisco Book Review * I can't remember the last time I enjoyed a book as much as The City's Son. Fans of Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere will definitely find things to love here; it's dark, it's gritty, it's touching, and it's deeply engrossing. I didn't want it to end * Stacia Kane, author of Unholy Ghosts * One of the most imaginative pieces of genre fiction I've ever read * Fantasy Faction * I was absolutely swept away . . . The writing is dynamic and vibrant, lyrical and bristling with intensity without being pretentious * Ann Aguirre, author of Enclave * From Charles Dickens to Iain Sinclair, Monica Ali to Philip Reeve, the city of London has been the central character in hundreds of great books. The City's Son, from Tom Pollock, is no exception * London Calling *
show more

About Tom Pollock

Tom Pollock is a graduate of the Sussex University Creative Writing Programme, and a member of the London-based writers' group The T-Party. He has lived everywhere from Scotland to Sumatra, but the peculiar magic of London has always drawn him back.
show more

Rating details

1,592 ratings
3.59 out of 5 stars
5 24% (378)
4 33% (521)
3 28% (442)
2 10% (165)
1 5% (86)

Our customer reviews

Tom Pollock's imagination shines true in a wonderful book. The three main characters brilliantly developed and the landscape of London is vividly displayed throughout. Bought the book for my girlfriend but fell in love with it myself. Give it a try and you won't regret itshow more
by Paul Walsh
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X