The Chilbury Ladies' Choir
18%
off

The Chilbury Ladies' Choir

4.03 (7,379 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

NATIONAL BESTSELLER "A delightful debut."--People For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale, The Chilbury Ladies' Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II. As England becomes enmeshed in the early days of World War II and the men are away fighting, the women of Chilbury village forge an uncommon bond. They defy the Vicar's stuffy edict to close the choir and instead "carry on singing," resurrecting themselves as the Chilbury Ladies' Choir. We come to know the home-front struggles of five unforgettable choir members: a timid widow devastated when her only son goes to fight; the older daughter of a local scion drawn to a mysterious artist; her younger sister pining over an impossible crush; a Jewish refugee from Czechoslovakia hiding a family secret; and a conniving midwife plotting to outrun her seedy past. An enchanting ensemble story that shuttles from village intrigue to romance to the heartbreaking matters of life and death, Jennifer Ryan's debut novel thrillingly illuminates the true strength of the women on the home front in a village of indomitable spirit.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 401 pages
  • 132 x 203 x 21mm | 314g
  • BROADWAY BOOKS
  • United States
  • English
  • 1 MAP
  • 1101906774
  • 9781101906774
  • 360,092

Review quote

"A delightful debut." -- People "This well-written and absorbing tale will stay with the reader for a long time to come." -- Bookreporter "Compelling and exquisitely wrought." -- Bookpage "These strong, unforgettable characters will keep you reading late into the night. I could not put this wonderful book down." -- The Missourian "There's so much happening in Chilbury: intrigue, romance and an unforgettable cast of characters who aren't always as they appear. The Chilbury Ladies' Choir is a charming slice of English wartime life that warms the soul like a hot toddy." -- Martha Hall Kelly, New York Times bestselling author of Lilac Girls "Lyrical, poetic, emotional, funny, endearing, surprising - it is a masterpiece." -- Veronica Henry, author of An Eligible Bachelor "The Chilbury Ladies' Choir sinks you deep inside the rich, intricate atmosphere of an English village in the middle of war, when quiet lives are upended and secrets unravel. With her unforgettable characters and vivid narrative, Jennifer Ryan creates the kind of wartime novel that plays out over the intimate territory of the human heart--full of soul, full of hope. You'll be thinking about this book long after the last page turns." -- Beatriz Williams, New York Times bestselling author of A Hundred Summers and The Secret Life of Violet Grant "World War II in an English village seen through the eyes of the most delicious cast of characters you'll ever meet--The Chilbury Ladies' Choir is a masterpiece of secrets, misdirection, village gossip, and gleeful disregard for anything but the main chance, as the Home Front learns to carry on. Seldom do you find a writer with such a deft touch--Jennifer Ryan sweeps the reader along to the very last page in a remarkable debut. " -- Charles Todd, New York Times bestselling author of the Inspector Ian Rutledge seriesshow more

About Jennifer Ryan

JENNIFER RYAN lives in the Washington, DC area with her husband and two children. Originally from Kent and then London, she was previously a nonfiction book editor.show more

Review Text

"A delightful debut." - People "This well-written and absorbing tale will stay with the reader for a long time to come." - Bookreporter "Compelling and exquisitely wrought." - Bookpage "These strong, unforgettable characters will keep you reading late into the night. I could not put this wonderful book down." - The Missourian "There's so much happening in Chilbury: intrigue, romance and an unforgettable cast of characters who aren't always as they appear. The Chilbury Ladies' Choir is a charming slice of English wartime life that warms the soul like a hot toddy." - Martha Hall Kelly, New York Times bestselling author of Lilac Girls "Lyrical, poetic, emotional, funny, endearing, surprising - it is a masterpiece." - Veronica Henry, author of An Eligible Bachelor "The Chilbury Ladies' Choir sinks you deep inside the rich, intricate atmosphere of an English village in the middle of war, when quiet lives are upended and secrets unravel. With her unforgettable characters and vivid narrative, Jennifer Ryan creates the kind of wartime novel that plays out over the intimate territory of the human heart-full of soul, full of hope. You'll be thinking about this book long after the last page turns." - Beatriz Williams, New York Times bestselling author of A Hundred Summers and The Secret Life of Violet Grant "World War II in an English village seen through the eyes of the most delicious cast of characters you'll ever meet-The Chilbury Ladies' Choir is a masterpiece of secrets, misdirection, village gossip, and gleeful disregard for anything but the main chance, as the Home Front learns to carry on. Seldom do you find a writer with such a deft touch-Jennifer Ryan sweeps the reader along to the very last page in a remarkable debut. " - Charles Todd, New York Times bestselling author of the Inspector Ian Rutledge seriesshow more

Rating details

7,379 ratings
4.03 out of 5 stars
5 32% (2,391)
4 45% (3,320)
3 18% (1,320)
2 4% (267)
1 1% (81)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X