The Castle in the Mist

The Castle in the Mist

3.33 (693 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 11 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 16-19 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

In the tradition of Edward Eager and E.L. Konigsburg, a novel about the excitement--and the dangers--of wishing. Tess and her brother, Max, are sent for the summer to their aunt's sleepy village in the English countryside, where excitement is as rare as a good wifi signal. So when Tess stumbles upon an old brass key that unlocks an ornately carved gate, attached to a strangely invisible wall, she jumps at the chance for adventure. And the world beyond the gate doesn't disappoint. She finds rose gardens, a maze made of hedges, and a boy named William who is just as lonely as she is. But at William's castle, strange things begin to happen. Carnival games are paid for in wishes, dreams seem to come alive, and then there's William's eerie warning: Beware of the hawthorn trees. A warning that chills Tess to the bone. In a magical, fantasy world that blurs the line between reality and imagination, readers are left to wonder exactly what they'd wish for if wishes could come true. Perfect for fans of Half Magic and The Secret Garden--and for anyone who's ever wondered if magic is real. For the further adventures of Tess and Max, be sure to check out Amy Ephron's Carnival Magic! Praise for The Castle in the Mist "Bursting with imagination and warmth, Amy Ephron's first novel for young people is a magical book in all ways."--Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s

This beautiful story's quiet, peaceful tone nicely evokes both the serenity of country life and the haunting magic of the castle, and the emotional heft of Tess and Max's separation from their parents, as well as their strong bond, keeps the tale firmly grounded in reality. Perfect for middle-graders who love classic fantasy.--Booklist Rich description of the castle along with an elaborate map at the book's beginning and an illustration at the end enhance the fantasy world....A sequel is suggested; beguiled readers will hope it happens.--Kirkus Reviews There are scenes...that are transcendent in their beautiful, ethereal descriptions [in this] uplifting novel about family and connection.--BCCB

A slightly darker, updated take on magical realism classics such as Edward Eager's Half Magic and E. Nesbit's The Enchanted Castle.--School Library Journal A near-perfect 9....This book defies gravity because it's hard to put down!--Time for Kids, kid reporter Ephron renders this magical world with such assertive beauty that readers of all ages, who are fortunate enough to believe in the power of magic, will enjoy immersing themselves in the roller-coaster fun of these stories, and come to trust, even if for a short time, that in this 'alternate universe' it is possible for us to come together and 'touch the sky.'--Jewish Journal
show more

Product details

  • 9-12
  • Hardback | 192 pages
  • 1 x 1 x 1mm | 317.51g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0399546987
  • 9780399546983
  • 1,246,727

Review quote

Praise for The Castle in the Mist "Bursting with imagination and warmth, Amy Ephron's first novel for young people is a magical book in all ways."--Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s

This beautiful story's quiet, peaceful tone nicely evokes both the serenity of country life and the haunting magic of the castle, and the emotional heft of Tess and Max's separation from their parents, as well as their strong bond, keeps the tale firmly grounded in reality. Perfect for middle-graders who love classic fantasy.--Booklist Rich description of the castle along with an elaborate map at the book's beginning and an illustration at the end enhance the fantasy world....A sequel is suggested; beguiled readers will hope it happens.--Kirkus Reviews There are scenes...that are transcendent in their beautiful, ethereal descriptions [in this] uplifting novel about family and connection.--BCCB

A slightly darker, updated take on magical realism classics such as Edward Eager's Half Magic and E. Nesbit's The Enchanted Castle.--School Library Journal A near-perfect 9....This book defies gravity because it's hard to put down!--Time for Kids, kid reporter Ephron renders this magical world with such assertive beauty that readers of all ages, who are fortunate enough to believe in the power of magic, will enjoy immersing themselves in the roller-coaster fun of these stories, and come to trust, even if for a short time, that in this 'alternate universe' it is possible for us to come together and 'touch the sky.'--Jewish Journal
show more

About Amy Ephron

Amy Ephron (www.amyephron.com) is a bestselling author of books for children and adults. The Castle in the Mist, her first book for young readers, was nominated for a SCIBA Award, and was followed by Carnival Magic and The Other Side of the Wall, all part of the Other Side series. Ephron is also the author of several adult books, including A Cup of Tea, which is an international bestseller. Her novel One Sunday Morning received the Booklist Best Fiction and Best Historical Fiction of the Year awards and was a Barnes & Noble Book Club selection. She also writes for TIME magazine and Air Mail Weekly and was a contributor at Vogue, Vogue.com and The New York Times T Magazine. Her work has appeared in numerous other publications as well. She was Executive Producer of Warner Bros.' A Little Princess. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband. Between them they have five children. You can follow her on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram @AmyEphron.
show more

Rating details

693 ratings
3.33 out of 5 stars
5 15% (102)
4 25% (172)
3 42% (289)
2 16% (113)
1 2% (17)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X