The Caged Queen
22%
off

The Caged Queen : Iskari Book Two

4.14 (1,129 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

WHAT WOULD YOU SACRIFICE FOR LOVE?

Roa and her sister Essie were born with a bond so strong that it forged them together forever. It was a magic they cherished - until the terrible day Essie died and her soul was trapped in this world.

Dax, the heir to the throne of Firgaard, was responsible. Roa swore she would never forgive him - yet when he came begging for her help to dethrone his cruel father, Roa made him a deal. She'd give him the army he needed if he made her queen.

Now, even after everything she has sacrificed, Dax's promises go unfulfilled. Roa's people still suffer.

Then a chance to right every wrong arises - an opportunity for Roa to rid herself of this enemy king and rescue her beloved sister. During the Relinquishing, when the spirits of the dead are said to return, Roa can reclaim her sister for good.

All she has to do is kill the king. . .

The Caged Queen takes readers back to the lush, immersive world of The Last Namsara with a stunning story about the unbreakable bond between two sisters and the sacrifices we make for love.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 134 x 210 x 32mm | 423g
  • Gollancz
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1473218160
  • 9781473218161
  • 19,888

Review Text

An accomplished fantasy novel . . . raised above the commonplace by one marvellous central premise - the idea that dragons are the custodians of the old tale, and that their fire is actually generated by the telling of stories - a premise that reads as an extended metaphor about imagination, stories and their power to change the world. It's the first of a series. I'll definitely be looking out for the next one. The Last Namsara review Joanne Harris, author of Chocolat and The Gospel of Loki
show more

Review quote

An extremely enjoyable fantasy, with a well-developed world and characters, that I would highly recommend * SF CROWSNEST * An intriguing tale of love, faith, dragons and the power words have. The Last Namsara review * Fantasy Book Review * The Last Namsara is easily one of my favourite fantasy books of this year . . . It's fast-paced, action packed, filled with a diverse cast, dangerous legends and of course dragons! There's political intrigue, a hidden rebellion and a consuming romance that will keep readers on the edge of their seat and reading long into the night. Fans of An Ember in the Ashes, Seven Realms and the Shattered Realms series with devour this. * YAbookscentral.com * It's always refreshing to see a non-traditional fantasy setting. Add a kickass princess with something to prove, a dash of Arabian Nights story magic, plus dragons? Yes please! The Last Namsara review * Elspeth Cooper, author of SONGS OF THE EARTH * The most simple thing I can say is this is the best book I have ever read and Kristen Ciccarelli is now my favorite author. Her story and her words have so much beauty, and love, and passion, and adventure. By the end I gasped every 5-10 pages and got goosebumps every 10-20 pages. There are not many books I would say this for, but pre-order this now because your soul has been waiting for a story this beautiful. The Last Namsara review * Tomi Adeyemi, author of CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE * An accomplished fantasy novel . . . raised above the commonplace by one marvellous central premise - the idea that dragons are the custodians of the old tale, and that their fire is actually generated by the telling of stories - a premise that reads as an extended metaphor about imagination, stories and their power to change the world. It's the first of a series. I'll definitely be looking out for the next one. The Last Namsara review * Joanne Harris, author of Chocolat and The Gospel of Loki *
show more

About Kristen Ciccarelli

Kristen Ciccarelli hails from Ontario's Niagara Peninsula where she grew up on her grandfather's grape farm. She's made her living as a baker, a bookseller, and a potter, but now writes books about bloodthirsty dragons, girls wielding really cool weapons, and the transformative power of stories.

You can learn more at www.kristenciccarelli.com or by following @SheLuresDragons
show more

Rating details

1,129 ratings
4.14 out of 5 stars
5 39% (438)
4 42% (475)
3 15% (166)
2 3% (39)
1 1% (11)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X