The Boys in the Boat (Young Readers Adaptation)
16%
off

The Boys in the Boat (Young Readers Adaptation) : The True Story of an American Team's Epic Journey to Win Gold at the 1936 Olympics

4.39 (1,718 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The #1 New York Times bestseller about the Greatest Generation freshly adapted for the next generation. For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Great Depression comes the astonishing tale of nine working-class boys from the American West who at the 1936 Olympics showed the world what true grit really meant. With rowers who were the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington's eight-oar crew was never expected to defeat the elite East Coast teams, yet they did, going on to shock the world by challenging the German boat rowing for Adolf Hitler. At the center of the tale is Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, whose personal quest captures the spirit of his generation--the generation that would prove in the coming years that the Nazis could not prevail over American determination and optimism. This deeply emotional yet easily accessible young readers adaptation of the award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller features never-before-seen photographs, highly visual back matter, and an exclusive new introduction.
show more

Product details

  • 9-12
  • Hardback | 227 pages
  • 177.8 x 228.6 x 16.76mm | 703.06g
  • Viking Books for Young Readers
  • English
  • Illustrations, unspecified
  • 0451475925
  • 9780451475923
  • 236,214

Review quote

Accolades for the adult edition of"The Boys in the Boat" #1New York Timesbestseller2014 ABA Adult Nonfiction Book of the Year2014 Washington State Book Award Finalist For those who like adventure stories straight-up, "The Boys in the Boat." . . is this year s closest approximation of"Unbroken. . . ."It s about the University of Washington s crew team: Nine working-class boys from the American West who at the 1936 Olympics showed the world what true grit really meant. "The New York Times" If you imagined a great regatta of books about rowing, then Brown s"Boys in the Boat"certainly makes the final heat. "Boston Globe" The astonishing story of the UW s 1936 eight-oar varsity crew and its rise from obscurity to fame, The individual stories of these young men are almost as compelling as the rise of the team itself. Brown excels at weaving those stories with the larger narrative, all culminating in the 1936 Olympic Games. . . A story this breathtaking demands an equally compelling author, and Brown does not disappoint. The narrative rises inexorably, with the final 50 pages blurring by with white-knuckled suspense as these all-American underdogs pull off the unimaginable. "The Seattle Times" Cogent history. . . and a surprisingly suspenseful tale of triumph. "USA Today""
show more

About Daniel James Brown

Daniel James Brown is the author of the #1 New York Times bestseller The Boys in the Boat, which won the ABA Nonfiction Book of the Year Award and the Washington State Book Award. His two previous nonfiction books, The Indifferent Stars Above and Under a Flaming Sky, were both finalists for the Washington State Book Award. He has taught writing at San Jose State University and Stanford University. He lives outside Seattle. You can learn more at danieljamesbrown.com.
show more

Rating details

1,718 ratings
4.39 out of 5 stars
5 54% (931)
4 34% (586)
3 10% (165)
2 2% (29)
1 0% (7)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X