The Book of Pearl
30%
off

The Book of Pearl

4.06 (570 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Translated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

An ode to the power of storytelling by one of France's greatest writers for children.A compelling story of a first love that defines a lifetime; perfect for fans of David Levithan, told with the intricate and beautiful writing style of bestselling author Timothee de Fombelle. Joshua Pearl is from a world that our own no longer believes in. He knows that his great love is waiting for him in that distant place, but he is trapped in our time. As his memories begin to fade, he discovers strange objects, tiny fragments of a story from a long time ago. Can Joshua remember the past and believe in his own story before his love is lost for ever?show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 135 x 215 x 25mm | 313g
  • Walker Books Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1406364622
  • 9781406364620
  • 231,284

About Timothée de Fombelle

Timothee de Fombelle is a much-admired French playwright, as well as the author of award-winning fiction. His first series, Toby Alone and Toby Alone and the Secrets of the Tree has been printed in 27 languages and has won numerous awards including France's prestigious Prix Sorcieres and the Marsh Award. Timothee's adventure series, Vango, Book One: Between Sky and Earth and Vango, Book Two: A Prince Without a Kingdom received huge critical acclaim, and book one was granted an English Pen Award for translation. Timothee also contributed to the acclaimed collection The Great War: an Anthology of Stories Inspired by Objects from the First World War. Timothee lives in Paris.Sarah Ardizzone is one of the most sought-after translators working today. She is twice recipient of the Marsh Award for Children's Literature in Translation, for Eye of the Wolf by Daniel Pennac (2005) and Toby Alone by Timothee de Fombelle (2009). Sarah appears regularly on the book festival circuit and curates programmes around translation for all ages - including Translation Nation and Translators In Schools. Sarah lives in London, SW2.Sam Gordon is a London-based translator of Arab Jazz by Karim Miske, which won a 2014 English PEN award and was shortlisted for a CWA International Dagger in 2015. Sam also translated Captain Rosalie, a short story by Timothee de Fombelle, which appeared in the Walker Books anthology The Great War: Stories Inspired by Objects from the First World War.show more

Review quote

A compelling story of a first love that defines a lifetime. * The Bookseller * This sweeping fairy tale of love and memory will bewitch readers * BookTrust * Sophisticated tale * School Library Association *show more

Rating details

570 ratings
4.06 out of 5 stars
5 40% (226)
4 35% (200)
3 19% (107)
2 5% (28)
1 2% (9)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X