The Atlas of Forgotten Places
29%
off

The Atlas of Forgotten Places

4.75 (8 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Two women from different worlds bound in a quest to save their loved ones. After a long career as an aid worker, Sabine Hardt has retreated to her native Germany for a quieter life. But when her American niece Lily disappears while volunteering in Uganda, Sabine must return to places and memories she once thought buried in order to find her. In Uganda, Rose Akulu--haunted by a troubled past with the Lord's Resistance Army and a family torn apart by war--is distressed when her lover Ocen vanishes without a trace. Side by side, Sabine and Rose must unravel the tangled threads that tie Lily and Ocen's lives together--ultimately discovering that the truth of their loved ones' disappearance is inescapably entwined to the secrets the two women carry. Vividly rendered by Jenny D. Williams, a fresh new voice in fiction, The Atlas of Forgotten Places delves deep into the heart of compassion and redemption. It spans geographies and generations to lay bare the stories that connect us all.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 361 pages
  • 152.4 x 236.22 x 33.02mm | 576.06g
  • Thomas Dunne Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1250122937
  • 9781250122933
  • 1,497,537

Review quote

-Jenny D. Williams' Atlas of Forgotten Places is an extraordinary debut. Written with confidence and compassion, masterfully plotted, her characters drawn in swift, sure strokes--this was a book I could not put down.- --Marisa Handler, Nautilus Award-winning author of Loyal to the Sky -Every page of The Atlas of Forgotten Places resonates with an intimate knowledge of life in 'Africa'...the impossible beauty of the landscape, the depths of sorrows carried by ordinary citizens, the miraculous melding of violence and personal grace. Jenny D. Williams has written that rare thing: a page-turning adventure story that simultaneously goes deep into the heart of what it is to be human and present.- --Malla Nunn, award-winning screenwriter and author of A Beautiful Place to Die, Silent Valley, and Present Darkness -A young American woman gone missing in Africa, her German aunt forced to revisit her own past. From these elements, Jenny Williams has produced a riveting alchemy. In the vein of Paul Bowles and Robert Stone, The Atlas of Forgotten Places is part political thriller, part love story, always attuned to matters of the heart. It's a splendid debut.- --Joshua Henkin, author of The World Without You, Matrimony, and Swimming Across the Hudson -I think Jenny Williams is a wonderfully gifted writer, who is at the beginning of a long and distinguished career.- --Richard Bausch, author of Peace and Before, During, After, winner of the PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence, and a Guggenheim fellow -A beautiful, heartbreaking story of civil war, family secrets, lost love and found hope. Unforgettable.- --Lian Dolan, Los Angeles Times bestselling author -The Atlas of Forgotten Places is a beautifully written, all-engulfing novel about our responsibility for each other and the faltering ways in which we try to help.- --Erika Mailman, author of The Witch's Trinity -The Atlas of Forgotten Places is a thriller that sweeps the reader into intrigue, adventure, and mystery. In the tradition of socially influential writers, from Shakespeare to Graham Greene, Jenny Williams employs exciting fiction to convey truths about the political, corporate, and economic systems that impact us all.- --John Perkins, New York Times bestselling author of The New Confessions of an Economic Hit Man and The Secret History of the American Empireshow more

About Jenny D Williams

JENNY D. WILLIAMS has lived in the U.S., Uganda, and Germany. She holds an MFA from Brooklyn College and a BA from UC Berkeley. Her award-winning fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and illustrations have been published in The Sun Magazine, Vela, and Ethical Traveler, as well as several anthologies. A former Teachers & Writers Collaborative fellow and recipient of an Elizabeth George Foundation grant for emerging writers, she currently lives in Seattle with her husband and dog. The Atlas of Forgotten Places is her first novel.show more

Rating details

8 ratings
4.75 out of 5 stars
5 88% (7)
4 0% (0)
3 12% (1)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X