The Apple Tart of Hope
27%
off

The Apple Tart of Hope

3.91 (1,496 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The second sensational novel from the Waterstones Children's Book Prize winner Sarah Moore Fitzgerald. THE APPLE TART OF HOPE is a contemporary love story about loyalty and friendship and the power of never giving up hope. Oscar Dunleavy, who used to make the world's most perfect apple tarts, is missing, presumed dead. No-one seems too surprised, except for Meg, his best friend, and his little brother Stevie. Surrounded by grief and confusion, Meg and Stevie are determined to find out what happened to Oscar, and together they learn about loyalty and friendship and the power of never giving up hope.The second breathtaking novel from Irish author, Sarah Moore Fitzgerald, following her debut, BACK TO BLACKBRICK, perfect for fans of Annabel Pitcher and Siobhan Dowd.show more

Product details

  • 12+
  • Paperback | 272 pages
  • 132 x 197 x 17mm | 218g
  • Hachette Children's Group
  • Orion Children's Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1444011154
  • 9781444011159
  • 79,549

Review quote

This is a wonderful and gripping tale about young love and friendship and how easy it is for things to go wrong. Even when there is apple tart * Bookwitch * This is a wonderful and gripping tale about young love and friendship and how easy it is for things to go wrong. Even when there is apple tart * Bookwitch * Readers will delight in watching Meg and Oscar transition from friendship to love while they become enraged at Paloma's bullying behavior. In addition to the romance, there is also plenty of intrigue and mystery to engage readers not typically drawn to love stories. * School Library Journal * Readers will delight in watching Meg and Oscar transition from friendship to love while they become enraged at Paloma's bullying behavior. In addition to the romance, there is also plenty of intrigue and mystery to engage readers not typically drawn to love stories. * School Library Journal * Fully developed secondary characters ... add richness and depth to this lyrically written tale, which explores themesof manipulation, self-discovery, hope, and love ...This touching novel is one to savor * Book List * Fully developed secondary characters ... add richness and depth to this lyrically written tale, which explores themesof manipulation, self-discovery, hope, and love ...This touching novel is one to savor * Book List * A delicious and gently philospophical book which explores the issues of bullying, loss, friendship and love with insight and humour * The Best New Children's Books 2015 * A delicious and gently philospophical book which explores the issues of bullying, loss, friendship and love with insight and humour * The Best New Children's Books 2015 * A beautiful story about friendship and hope that will make you laugh and cry * WRD About Books * A beautiful story about friendship and hope that will make you laugh and cry * WRD About Books * A little piece of pure, irresistible magic -- Eve Seymore * CHELTENHAM STANDARD * A little piece of pure, irresistible magic -- Eve Seymore * CHELTENHAM STANDARD * Both adults and children alike would thoroughly enjoy * Chrissi Reads * Both adults and children alike would thoroughly enjoy * Chrissi Reads * I felt this story had real depth, and dealt honestly and compassionately with strong emotions and serious decisions. * The Little Reader Library * I felt this story had real depth, and dealt honestly and compassionately with strong emotions and serious decisions. * The Little Reader Library * A beautiful book about being different, about good and bad friendships, and how salvation can come from an unlikely place. * Scribbles Book Reviews * A beautiful book about being different, about good and bad friendships, and how salvation can come from an unlikely place. * Scribbles Book Reviews * I was so absorbed in the moving storyline that I read it in one sitting * Book Babblers * I was so absorbed in the moving storyline that I read it in one sitting * Book Babblers * ...a wonderful book that will leave you with a giant smile on your face, and a longing for the taste homemade apple tart. * THE BOOK BAG * ...a wonderful book that will leave you with a giant smile on your face, and a longing for the taste homemade apple tart. * THE BOOK BAG * A layered, morally complex and captivating read -- Joseph O'Connor * IRISH TIMES * A layered, morally complex and captivating read -- Joseph O'Connor * IRISH TIMES * A big-hearted novel about love, loyalty and friendship from a rising star -- The Bookseller * THE BOOKSELLER * A big-hearted novel about love, loyalty and friendship from a rising star -- The Bookseller * THE BOOKSELLER * A poignant, unusual contemporary novel -- Imogen Russell Williams * METRO * A poignant, unusual contemporary novel -- Imogen Russell Williams * METRO * A moving and poignant tale about the redemptive power of friendship. -- bestselling author iof ASKING FOR IT, Louise O'Neill * IRISH TIMES * A moving and poignant tale about the redemptive power of friendship. -- bestselling author iof ASKING FOR IT, Louise O'Neill * IRISH TIMES * one of Ireland's most interesting children's writers * IRISH INDEPENDENT * one of Ireland's most interesting children's writers * IRISH INDEPENDENT * This suspenseful story is vivid with characters * THE SUNDAY TIMES * This suspenseful story is vivid with characters * THE SUNDAY TIMES * This novel is gentle and mild but it has hidden powers, too. -- Martin Chilton * THE TELEGRAPH * This novel is gentle and mild but it has hidden powers, too. -- Martin Chilton * THE TELEGRAPH * Part mystery, part sweet romance ... Young readers will be hooked from the get-go. * PEOPLE, The Best Children's Books of 2016 * Part mystery, part sweet romance ... Young readers will be hooked from the get-go. * PEOPLE, The Best Children's Books of 2016 *show more

About Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald was born in New York in 1965 but grew up in Co.Dublin. She is a professor and associate vice president at the University of Limerick in Ireland, specialising in psychology and effective pedagogy in higher education, and has published several non-fiction books on teaching, learning and academic writing. She runs regular writers' retreats for academics and students in Ireland and internationally.Follow her on Twitter @SMooreFitzshow more

Back cover copy

Oscar Dunleavy, who used to make the world's most perfect apple tarts, is missing, presumed dead. No-one seems too surprised, except for Meg, his best friend, and his little brother Stevie. Surrounded by grief and confusion, Meg and Stevie are determined to find out what happened to Oscar, and together they learn about loyalty and friendship and the power of never giving up hope. 'an original big-hearted novel about loyalty, friendship, love and hope with characters who will really stay with you.' The Booksellershow more

Review Text

Part mystery, part sweet romance ... Young readers will be hooked from the get-go. PEOPLE, The Best Children's Books of 2016show more

Rating details

1,496 ratings
3.91 out of 5 stars
5 26% (396)
4 45% (667)
3 24% (357)
2 4% (55)
1 1% (21)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X