The Advent Killer

The Advent Killer : DI Antonia Hawkins 1

3.72 (864 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$13.95

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

The Advent Killer is the electrifying debut thriller from British author, Alastair Gunn.

Christmas is coming. One body at a time.

Three weeks before Christmas: Sunday, one a.m. A woman is drowned in her bathtub.

One week later: Sunday, one a.m. A woman is beaten savagely to death, every bone in her body broken.

Another week brings another victim.

As panic spreads across London, DCI Antonia Hawkins, leading her first murder investigation, must stop a cold, careful killer whose twisted motives can only be guessed at, before the next body is found. On Sunday.

When the clock strikes one . . .

A terrifying British debut thriller, The Advent Killer introduces DCI Antonia Hawkins, with the second in the series coming from Penguin in 2014. Fans of Chris Carter and Richard Montanari should be paying attention.

Praise for The Advent Killer:

'A truly terrifying debut novel' My Weekly
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 464 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 28mm | 319g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1405914440
  • 9781405914444
  • 460,425

Review Text

A truly terrifying debut novel My Weekly
show more

Review quote

A truly terrifying debut novel * My Weekly * This is a strong, spell-binding crime novel that shows much promise of dark treasures to come from this author * Crimesquad * The Advent Killer is both well written and entertaining and I found myself racing to find out what would happen next, and who the killer was * crimefictionlover.com * If Police Procedurals with a strong female main character are your bag, grab a copy of The Advent Killer ... actually... buy a few - they'd make a great Christmas gift for any Crime Fiction lover -- Liz Mistry * thecrimewarp.blogspot.co.uk * Gunn cleverly builds suspense throughout his fantastic debut novel...The Advent Killer was a well written read from this debut novelist, who shows a great promise of things to come. * shaysbookshelf.blogspot.co.uk * If you're looking for a gripping, gruesome, fast-paced page-turner that will keep you guessing right up until the killer's identity is revealed...then The Advent Killer is for you. I found myself happily racing through it in a couple of sittings, and I'd defy anyone who picked it up not to want to do the same * joanne-sheppard.com * A good debut * karennaylor.blogspot.co.uk * This book was brilliant from start to finish and a proper page-turner. I finished this in a couple of days and loved every second of reading -- Jay Bancroft * thosereviewsthough.blogspot.co.uk * Five stars. A really awesome book...Would highly recommend. Had me at the edge of my seat, great detail to make you feel like you are in the characters shoes. Powerfully written * anfalkhaliq.weebly.com *
show more

About Alastair Gunn

Alastair Gunn is an experienced magazine journalist. The Advent Killer was his first novel in the series featuring DCI Antonia Hawkins, followed by My Bloody Valentine and The Keeper, which was published in April 2017.

Alastair lives in Hertfordshire with his fiancee, Anna.
show more

Rating details

864 ratings
3.72 out of 5 stars
5 23% (197)
4 39% (333)
3 28% (242)
2 9% (78)
1 2% (14)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X