The Accidental Apprentice

The Accidental Apprentice

4.3 (493 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Read by 

List price: US$34.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

Description

A boy who accidentally bonds with a magical Beast must set off on an adventure in the mysterious Woods in this whimsical and cheeky middle grade fantasy debut--perfect for fans of Nevermoor and How to Train Your Dragon.The last thing Barclay Thorne ever wanted was an adventure. Thankfully, as an apprentice to the town's mushroom farmer, Barclay need only work hard and follow the rules to one day become the head mushroom farmer himself. No danger required. But then Barclay accidentally breaks his town's most sacred rule: never ever EVER stray into the Woods, for within the Woods lurk vicious magical Beasts. To Barclay's horror, he faces a fate far worse than being eaten: he unwittingly bonds with a Beast and is run out of town by an angry mob. Determined to break this bond and return home, Barclay journeys to find the mysterious town of Lore Keepers, people who have also bonded with Beasts and share their powers. But after making new friends, entering a dangerous apprenticeship exam, and even facing the legendary Beast of the Woods, Barclay must make a difficult choice: return to the home and rules he's always known, or embrace the adventure awaiting him.
show more

Product details

  • CD-Audio
  • 142 x 147 x 28mm | 204g
  • English
  • Unabridged
  • Unabridged
  • 1797121642
  • 9781797121642

Review quote

"The worldbuilding calls forth the atmosphere of classic fantasy worlds while invoking fun and whimsy every step of the way...Barclay's journey reignites the wonder and discovery of childhood, culminating in a warm and sincere message about embracing who you are. Wholesome, delightful, and jam-packed with adventure."

-- "Kirkus Reviews (starred review)"
show more

Rating details

493 ratings
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 47% (230)
4 40% (195)
3 12% (60)
2 1% (3)
1 1% (5)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X