The True Queen
10%
off

The True Queen

4.19 (21 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available soon, pre-order now.
When will my order arrive?

61 days to go
Pre-order Add to wishlist

Description

Fairyland's future lies in doubt . . .

The enchanted island of Janda Baik, in the Malay Archipelago, has long been home to witches. And Muna and her sister Sakti wake on its shores under a curse, which has quite stolen away their memories. Their only hope of salvation lies in distant Britain, where the Sorceress Royal runs a controversial academy for female magicians. But the pair travel via the formidable Fairy Queen's realm, where Sakti simply disappears.

To save her sister, Muna must learn to navigate Regency London's high society and trick the English into believing she's a magical prodigy. But when the Sorceress Royal's friends become accidentally embroiled in a plot - involving the Fairy Queen's contentious succession - Muna is drawn right in. She must also find Sakti, break their curse and somehow stay out of trouble. But if fairyland's true queen does finally return, trouble may find her first . . .

The True Queen is Zen Cho's spelling binding second book. It's set in a sparkling version of Regency London, with a fairy tale twist. And although it's set in the same world as her award-winning novel, The Sorcerer to the Crown, this reads as a standalone.

'An enchanting cross between Georgette Heyer and Susannah Clarke, full of delights and surprises'
Naomi Novik on Sorcerer to the Crown

'Captivating . . . tells an entertaining story with wit and consummate skill'
Guardian on Sorcerer to the Crown
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 384 pages
  • 153 x 234 x 39mm | 883g
  • MACMILLAN
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1509801073
  • 9781509801077
  • 617,831

Review quote

A winning combination of magic and thrill -- Washington Post on Sorcerer to the Crown A thumping good read -- Independent on Sorcerer to the Crown Like a mix of Jane Austen, PG Wodehouse, and Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, and all its own thing. Glorious -- Aliette de Bodard on Sorcerer to the Crown A delightful and enchanting novel that uses sly wit and assured style to subvert expectations while it always, unfailingly, entertains. I loved it! -- Kate Elliott on Sorcerer to the Crown Sorcerer to the Crown is fast-paced and witty, and should appeal to fans of Mary Robinette Kowal and Gail Carriger -- Elizabeth Bear on Sorcerer to the Crown Fabulous! If you like Austen or Patrick O'Brian, or magic and humor like Susannah Clarke, or simply a very fun read, you will really, really, enjoy this -- Ann Leckie on The Sorcerer to the Crown An enchanting cross between Georgette Heyer and Susannah Clarke, full of delights and surprises. Zen Cho unpins the edges of the canvas and throws them wide -- Naomi Novik on The Sorcerer to the Crown A captivating debut . . . tells an entertaining story with wit and consummate skill -- Guardian on The Sorcerer to the Crown
show more

About Zen Cho

Zen Cho was born and raised in Malaysia and now lives in Birmingham. She was a finalist for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer for her short fiction and won the Crawford Award. Her debut novel, Sorcerer to the Crown, won the 2016 British Fantasy Society Award for Best Newcomer.
show more

Rating details

21 ratings
4.19 out of 5 stars
5 43% (9)
4 33% (7)
3 24% (5)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X