The Terrible Two
12%
off

The Terrible Two

4.1 (7,508 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author)  , Illustrated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Miles Murphy is not happy to be moving to Yawnee Valley, a sleepy town that's famous for one thing and one thing only: cows. In his old school, everyone knew him as the town's best prankster, but Miles quickly discovers that Yawnee Valley already has a prankster, and a great one. If Miles is going to take the title from this mystery kid, he is going to have to raise his game.It's prankster against prankster in an epic war of trickery, until the two finally decide to join forces and pull off the biggest prank ever seen: a prank so huge that it would make the members of the International Order of Disorder proud.
In The Terrible Two, bestselling authors and friends Mac Barnett and Jory John have created a series that has its roots in classic middle-grade literature yet feels fresh and new at the same time.
Advance Praise for The Terrible Two:
"A double helping of fun and mischief!"-Jeff Kinney, author of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series
"The pranks, the brotherhood, the art, the heart! What's not to love about The Terrible Two?"-Sara Pennypacker, author of the Clementine series
"You don't have to be a cow, like cows, or even know a cow to love The Terrible Two."-Dave Eggers
"This book is terrible! Terribly funny, terribly full of pranks, and terribly wonderful."-Jon Scieszka, author of The Stinky Cheese Man and the Frank Einstein series
"The Terrible Two are my kind of kids. And what's more, they're kids' kind of kids."-Annie Barrows, author of the Ivy & Bean series
"Hilarious."-Dav Pilkey, author of the Captain Underpants series
show more

Product details

  • 9-12
  • Hardback | 224 pages
  • 156 x 208 x 22mm | 390g
  • Amulet Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Black-and-white illustrations throughout
  • 1419714910
  • 9781419714917
  • 212,522

Review quote

"This is another great book for fans of Wimpy Kid, Big Nate and the World According to Norm. Readers will love Miles and the nerdy class helper Niles as they spar and snipe - and eventually work together." Jane Howarth, Birmingham Mail Funny books that transcend silliness and are written with skill are rare. But The Terrible Two by the award-winning American authors Jory John and Mac Barnett, is rich in deadpan jokes and sprightly turns of phrase. Miles hopes to maintain his reputation as a prankster in his new school but arrives to find himself already out-pranked. A war of practical jokes ensues, until he and his adversary collaborate. Smartly observant of school life, and illustrated by Kevin Cornell in a retro comic-book style, it is ideal for reading aloud.' Nicolette Jones, The Sunday Times (Culture) 05.04.15 a tale that's loaded with cunning high jinks, neat pieces of outwitting, some great gags and more than you ever wanted to know about cows.'FT Life & Arts - 07.03.15 "Stylish, full of skilfully imagined pranks and frequently laugh-out-loud funny, this has all the makings of the start of a series with staying power." Teach Primary, March 2015 "Tempt those teens still addicted to Wimpy Kid with something slightly more challenging; it's written in the first person, which allows a more sophisticated level of humour and the two likeable protagonists are refreshingly three-dimensional."Teach Secondary, April 2015
show more

About Mac Barnett

Mac Barnett is a New York Times bestselling author of books for children, including Extra Yarn, which won a 2013 Caldecott Honor, and Battle Bunny. Jory John is a writer, editor, and journalist. He is coauthor of the bestselling All My Friends Are Dead. Kevin Cornell is the illustrator of many children's books, including Count the Monkeys and Mustache!, both by Mac Barnett.
show more

Rating details

7,508 ratings
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 43% (3,228)
4 33% (2,483)
3 17% (1,310)
2 4% (317)
1 2% (170)

Our customer reviews

Have you ever pulled a prank on someone? Miles Murphy is having to move with his mother, Judy Murphy, from his old apartment in a pink building that was close to the ocean and his best friends Carl and Ben, to start a new life in sleepy, boring Yawnee Valley, where Mrs. Murphy will work in the Post Office but the main feature is cows—as far as the eye can see. However, what Miles is most unhappy about is saying good-bye to his reputation as his school’s biggest prankster. He is now enrolled at the Yawnee Valley Science and Letters Academy, where he meets the overbearing Principal, Mr. Barry Barkin, and his bullying son Josh, makes friends with Holly Rash, and is paired with Niles Sparks who is the Principal’s main helper. Maybe Miles can become the biggest prankster in his new school. But wait! On the first day of school, someone parks the Principal’s car on the front steps blocking the entry way. So it appears that this school already has a prankster. Who is it? Will Miles be able to overcome him? Or will he outdo Miles? Prankster against prankster--who will win the pranking war? And how? There is really very little that is overtly objectionable in the book—just things like references to kids who’re allowed to see R-rated movies and cows that “farted.” Perhaps the most questionable element of a specific nature that I found was a statement, repeated a couple of times by Niles, that “sometimes it’s OK to do something wrong if it helps you to do something right.” Many of us might wonder if this is a message which we really want to resonate with our kids. It is certainly something that parents will need to discuss with their children if they read the book. Also, some parents may not care for the way in which the pranksters, who flaunt authority, are presented as the heroes, whereas the ones in authority are pictured more as the bad guys, or at least in an undesirable light. This seems to be a growing theme in children’s literature today, and each family will have to make its own judgments on these kinds of decisions, but judged solely on the basis of the writing, plot design, and sustainability of interest, the book is not too bad. However, I will say that it doesn’t present anything of lasting value. It is purely a comic read, the middle grade literary equivalent of junk food. Twinkies are a nice treat once in a while, although I can’t have them any more because I’m a diabetic, but a steady diet of them would not be good and too many might even make one sick. Which brings me to my last point, and that is that this is apparently intended as the first of a series. So readers may look forward to more prank adventures of “The Terrible Two.” The book is due to be released on Jan. 13, 2015.show more
by Wayne S. Walker
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X