The Temple House Vanishing
46%
off

The Temple House Vanishing

3.43 (2,334 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 9-12 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

'This brooding tale of obsessive love, teenage jealousy and hidden desire has a dark charm' The i paper

'Atmospheric, creepy, tense and utterly absorbing' Harriet Tyce

'Clean prose, subtle characters and intrigue to keep the pages turning' Mike McCormack

___________________

Power. Jealousy. Desire.

Twenty-five years ago, a sixteen-year-old schoolgirl and her charismatic teacher disappeared without trace...

When Louisa arrives at Temple House, an elite catholic boarding school, she quickly finds herself drawn to sophisticated fellow pupil Victoria and their young bohemian art teacher, Mr Lavelle. The three of them form a bond that seems to offer an escape from the repressive regime of the nuns who run the cloistered school. Until Louisa and Mr Lavelle suddenly vanish.

Years later, a journalist with a childhood connection to Louisa determines to resolve the mystery. Her search for the truth will uncover a tragic, mercurial tale of suppressed desire and long-buried secrets. It will shatter lives and lay a lost soul to rest.

The Temple House Vanishing is a stunning, intensely atmospheric novel of unrequited longing, dark obsession and unintended consequences.

'Chilling' Christine Dwyer Hickey

'Exquisite' Jo Spain
___________________

Perfect for fans of Emily M. Danforth's's Plain Bad Heroines...
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 336 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 20mm | 237g
  • Corvus
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Main
  • 9781786499394
  • 375,015

Review quote

Evocative and mysterious... sublime writing with an engaging plot and superbly drawn characters * Sunday Independent * Donohue is a master of clean, sharp prose * Irish Times * Donohue looks to be the latest name to join the ranks of Ireland's proud female thriller-writing tradition. * Irish Independent * Subtle, intriguing and very well written * Guardian: 'The best recent crime and thrillers' * This brooding tale of obsessive love, teenage jealousy and hidden desire has a dark charm. * i * An enchanting writer... ingenious * Sunday Business Post * A hugely promising debut * Mike McCormack, author of Solar Bones * Atmospheric, creepy, tense and utterly absorbing * Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange * Beautifully written... chilling * Christine Dwyer Hickey * An exquisitely written novel. Absolutely beautiful * Jo Spain, author of The Confession * Assured and compelling * Liz Robinson, LoveReading * An extremely fine novel... compelling * New Books Magazine * Beautifully atmospheric... terrific... Intelligent, insightful and intriguing * LizLovesBooks * This eerie mystery thriller, which has also evoked comparisons with Picnic at Hanging Rock, has pitched Donohue as a rising star. Definitely worth a look. * RTE Guide * A chilling, atmospheric tale of obsession and desire * Culturefly * Casts a spell that keeps you captivated. * Heat * Exceptional * The Canberra Times * A highly entertaining thriller * Coly Point Observer * An atmospheric, gothic read * The List * Sublime writing, thick with atmosphere * Irish Independent *
show more

About Rachel Donohue

Rachel Donohue graduated from University College, Dublin, in Philosophy and Politics before embarking on a career in communications and media relations. She lives in Dublin, and The Temple House Vanishing is her first novel.
show more

Rating details

2,334 ratings
3.43 out of 5 stars
5 13% (299)
4 34% (802)
3 38% (882)
2 13% (305)
1 2% (46)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X