3.51 (27 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


A giant in the pantheon of 19th century composers, Tchaikovsky continues to enthrall audiences today. From the Nutcracker-arguably the most popular ballet currently on the boards-Swan Lake, and Sleeping Beauty, to Eugene Onegin and Pique Dame, to the Symphony Pathetique and the always rousing, canon-blasting 1812 Overture-this prolific and beloved composer's works are perennial favorites. Now, John Wiley, a renowned Tchaikovsky scholar, provides a fresh biography aimed in classic Master Musicians style at the student and music lover. Wiley deftly draws on documents from imperial, Soviet, and post-Soviet era sources, providing a more balanced look at recent controversies surrounding the marriage, death, and sexuality of the composer. The author dovetails the biographical material with separate chapters that treat the music thoroughly and fully, work-by-work, with more substantial explorations of Tchaikovsky's most familiar compositions. These analyses present new, even iconoclastic perspectives on the music and the composer's intent and expression. Several informative appendices, in the Master Musicians format, include an exhaustive list of works and bibliography.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 592 pages
  • 157.48 x 233.68 x 43.18mm | 952.54g
  • Oxford University Press Inc
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • numerous halftones and musical notation
  • 0195368924
  • 9780195368925
  • 540,981

Review quote

This coolly magisterial book...builds up a picture of this profoundly conflicted man, and his wondrous music. * Michael Church, The Independent on Sunday * A dedicated and erudite volume that re-stimulates interest in this so-familiar composer. * Gramophone * Wiley is authoritative but never unapproachable - and also refreshingly unsensationalist. * Liz Thomson, The Independent * An excellent, informative, often surprisingly moving book full of warmth and wisdom. * Classical Music Magazine, Michael Quinn * Cogently written, this is a hughely valuable addition to the Master Musicians series. A new, authoritative and agenda-setting biography. * Classical Music Magazine, Michael Quinn * The book is serious and valuable, and presents an excellent synthesis of scholarship that would otherwise almost certainly be inaccessible. * J.P.E. Harper-Scott, Times Literary Supplement * An excellent, informative, often surprisingly moving book full of warmth and wisdom. * Classical Music * the reader is granted a more detailed picture of Tchaikovsky's day-to-day life than has been achieved in any singly-colume biography of the composer to date * Music and Letters *
show more

About Roland John Wiley

Roland John Wiley is Professor of Music at the University of Michigan and is the author of Tchaikovsky's Ballets.
show more

Table of contents

show more

Rating details

27 ratings
3.51 out of 5 stars
5 22% (6)
4 26% (7)
3 41% (11)
2 4% (1)
1 7% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X