Tastes Like Fear (D.I. Marnie Rome 3)

Tastes Like Fear (D.I. Marnie Rome 3)

4.17 (1,006 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

A dark, compelling Marnie Rome novel, rich with psychological insight, from the winner of the Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year. For readers of Clare Mackintosh and Alex Marwood.

'Intelligently and fluently written with a clever plot and an energetic pace, dealing with harrowing topics and shot through with humanity' Cath Staincliffe


The fragile young girl who causes the fatal car crash disappears from the scene. A runaway who doesn't want to be found, she only wants to return to the man who understands her and offers her warmth, comfort, a home. He gives her shelter. Just as he gives shelter to the other lost girls who live in his house.

D.I. Marnie Rome thinks that she knows families, their secrets and their fault lines. But as she begins investigating the girl's disappearance nothing can prepare her for what she's about to face.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 432 pages
  • 128 x 198 x 32mm | 320g
  • Headline Book Publishing
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1472226437
  • 9781472226433
  • 254,571

Review Text

One of Britain's best new crime writers Daily Mail
show more

Review quote

One of Britain's best new crime writers * Daily Mail * Marnie goes from strength to strength... this one drips with the gritty, dirty, danger of the urban wastelands around the river -- Julia Crouch Highly compelling and atmospheric... the storyline and characters involved me completely, from the very first -- Kate Rhodes Hilary's depiction of 13-year-old Laura Beswick, Loz, is heartbreaking and convincing. This pacy, easy-reading novel is lifted by its perceptive examination of the distress of girls who don't believe they fit their allotted space in the world and the agony of the parents who try to make them understand how deeply they are loved -- N. J. Cooper Writes with an effortless ease and fervour that displays what an accomplished writer she is * Crimespree magazine * Tastes Like Fear is quality intelligent crime, with enough twists to keep you glued to the page and a massive dose of terrifying anticipation * Northern Crime blog * Tastes Like Fear is an extraordinary depiction of psychological and economic violence that is genuinely chilling * Pam Reader blog * A masterclass in pace and plot * Joanne Sheppard blog * Tastes Like Fear is a triumph; brutal, honest and quite brilliant * Random Things Through My Letterbox blog * Fast-paced, tightly plotted and well-written * The Bath Magazine * I cannot recommend this book highly enough * Live and Deadly blog * It is devious, dark, deliciously chilling. A formidable addition to an accomplished series that just keeps getting better and better * Never Imitate blog * A tautly conceived story that will grab you from the first page and refuse to let go until the last * CrimeSquad * Tastes Like Fear is every bit as assured and involving as its two predecessors, and Hilary is a writer who is clearly here to stay * Crime Time * Yet again the author proves herself to be among the leaders of contemporary British crime fiction * For Winter Nights blog * Brilliant. I put everything else aside when I have one of her books in the house -- Alex Marwood A tense, terrifying tale of obsession and possession . . . a writer at the top of her game -- Alison Graham * Radio Times * A truly chilling exploration of control, submission and the desire to step out of a normal life -- Eva Dolan It's meaty, dark and terrifying. Unflinchingly violent and beautifully big-hearted in equal measure. And Sarah's writing is glorious - she tells us things in new ways, gives us a fully fleshed, sensual world to inhabit for the novel -- Julia Crouch Mixing a strong sense of social justice with carefully crafted characters and an interesting plot, this is a powerful piece of crime writing that builds to an emotionally charged conclusion * Sydney Herald * I think it must be one of the debut novels of next year, if not THE debut novel... (It will be if there is any justice in the world!) -- Caro Ramsay Intelligently and fluently written with a clever plot and an energetic pace, dealing with harrowing topics and shot through with humanity, I think Sarah's onto a winning series and I really look forward to reading the next instalment -- Cath Staincliffe It's written with the verve and assurance of a future star and deserves to be a big hit -- Steven Dunne It has such pace and force. It's very disturbing and builds up to a terrific climax -- Helen Dunmore I finished it today and it's completely brilliant, complex, thrilling, brutal, tender, scary and intriguing. What a great book. The pacing is superb, the plot is compelling, the characters are so well drawn. The ending is ingenious -- Richard Jones of Bristol Review of Books
show more

About Sarah Hilary

Sarah Hilary's debut novel SOMEONE ELSE'S SKIN won the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2015. It was the Observer's Book of the Month ('superbly disturbing'), a Richard & Judy Book Club bestseller, and has been published worldwide. NO OTHER DARKNESS and TASTES LIKE FEAR continue the DI Marnie Rome series with QUIETER THAN KILLING to follow in early 2017. Sarah lives in Bath.
show more

Rating details

1,006 ratings
4.17 out of 5 stars
5 41% (409)
4 40% (407)
3 15% (153)
2 3% (27)
1 1% (10)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X