A Tapping at My Door
11%
off
11%
off

A Tapping at My Door : A gripping serial killer thriller

3.95 (2,609 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

From the bestselling author of Cry Baby, the beginning of a brilliant and gripping police procedural series set in Liverpool, perfect for fans of Peter James and Mark Billingham

"Recalls Harlan Coben - though for my money Jackson is the better writer." Guardian

A woman at home in Liverpool is disturbed by a persistent tapping at her back door. She's disturbed to discover the culprit is a raven, and tries to shoo it away. Which is when the killer strikes.

DS Nathan Cody, still bearing the scars of an undercover mission that went horrifyingly wrong, is put on the case. But the police have no leads, except the body of the bird - and the victim's missing eyes.

As flashbacks from his past begin to intrude, Cody realises he is battling not just a murderer, but his own inner demons too.

And then the killer strikes again, and Cody realises the threat isn't to the people of Liverpool after all - it's to the police.

Following the success and acclaim of the Callum Doyle novels, A Tapping at My Door is the first instalment of David Jackson's new Nathan Cody series.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 384 pages
  • 161 x 241 x 32mm | 631g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1785761072
  • 9781785761072
  • 2,602,423

Review quote

A Tapping At My Door is a spellbinding and spine chilling read that had me literally on the edge of my seat...It had me well and truly gripped from beginning to end. * Bytheletterbookreviews.com * As flawed heroes go, Cody is up there with the best in every sense and you'll find yourself worrying about him as much as the bloody terror he's facing. A thrilling series opener. -- Jon Wise * Weekend Sport * I was sucked in and had tears in my eyes and a lump in my throat. At other points, I just couldn't turn the pages fast enough. Jackson's writing is flawless. Clear and concise. To the point and cuts you when you're not looking. Utterly utterly fabulous. What a way to start a series! Highly recommended. -- Rebecca Bradley * Murder Down to A Tea Blog * His writing style is brilliant and a joy to read...Jackson has created wonderful new characters with DS Cody and DC Webley. The plot of A Tapping At My Door opens in best Hitchcock tradition and moves along smoothly with enough suspense to keep the reader enthralled right until the unexpected ending * Devoted to Thrills Blog * The opening chapter of Jackson's new novel features a spine tingling level of fear that mounts at a cracking pace... Jackson's strength lies in being able to execute a challenging plot device with sensitivity, empathy and care. He's all about delivering emotional depth while entertaining his readers. * Pam Reader Blog * It takes quite a lot to render me speechless but this book did just that. There was a moment near the end that I switched off to everything around me as I wanted to give everything I had as a reader to the final few pages of the book that is definitely going to be in my Top 10 of 2016...perfection' * My Chestnut Reading Tree Blog * A deliciously dark and compelling investigation... a well-executed thriller, with plenty of scope and a firm foundation for a projected series. * Raven Crime Reads Blog * It's one of the few novels that I have read where I felt some empathy towards the killer and revulsion towards a victim. It's a fantastic novel, the first in a new series that has huge potential. * Steph's Book Blog * 'A Tapping at my Door is a superbly written crime thriller. It is full of action, with some brilliantly drawn characters thrown into the mix. I cannot recommend it highly enough and I gave it 5 stars on Goodreads. It kept me reading late into the night. * bibliophilebookclub.com * It's a fast paced crime thriller featuring the hunt for a vengeful serial killer. Absolutely everything I love in a book! * Damp Pebbles Blog * A Tapping at My Door is the best crime fiction novel I've read. It's an outstanding book, and it's one that I am going to be recommending to everybody. * Book Addict Shaun Blog * I can't recommend this book enough, it is definitely going to be in my top ten reads of 2016, there isn't one bit that could have been better! * Cleopatra Loves Books Blog * A very decent police thriller...well written and quite gripping * Sid's Book Blog * It grabs you right from the start and doesn't let go...An outstanding read. A first rate gem of read. Oh god I need to get more books by this author! * I Love Reading Blog * By far the best book I have read this year...this book picks you up from page one and doesn't put you down till the last page. It is a rollercoaster of plot, intrigue, false turnings and twists. * breakawayreviews.co.uk * The Liverpool setting makes for an interesting change, the characters are well drawn and the plot builds to a taut and tense conclusion. In all, a worthy addition to the annals of British detective fiction * The Sydney Morning Gerald * A pacy, suspenseful story with a dramatic finale and with some teasing loose ends that will no doubt be followed up (I hope!) - this is a series that I will happily follow and I look forward to meeting Nathan Cody again * My Reading Corner Book Blog * Jackson has proved himself a clever and compelling writer and A Tapping at My Door is a powerful opener... a gripping, atmospheric chiller with a spine-tingling hint of Hitchcock, a superbly drawn cast and a police procedural so authentic that it's like tagging along with the CID -- Pam Norfolk * blackpoolgazette.co.uk * This is a gripping, tense, edge-of-your-seat thriller that will keep you guessing until the very end * Nudge Books * Quite possibly the creepiest opening to a crime novel that I have ever read. It feels like a horror film, you don't want to look, but you do anyway. DS Cody is a fantastic character and the unusual twist to the plot had me hooked * Damp Pebbles * The ending on that will take your breath away and you can't tell anyone else about it or you'll ruin the book. But, it's stunning. I love David Jackson's work. I'd pick up anything he writes without reading the back -- Rebecca Bradley * Portobello Book Blog *
show more

About David Jackson

David Jackson is the bestselling author of Cry Baby. His debut novel, Pariah, was Highly Commended in the Crime Writers' Association Debut Dagger Awards. He lives on the Wirral peninsula with his wife and two daughters. Follow David @Author_Dave.
show more

Rating details

2,609 ratings
3.95 out of 5 stars
5 32% (823)
4 41% (1,071)
3 20% (527)
2 5% (137)
1 2% (51)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X