3.59 (1,301 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$24.95

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


In the tradition of Kathy Reichs and Jeffery Deaver, a riveting new novelist introduces a gutsy forensic investigator caught in the middle of an explosive crisisForensic scientist Theresa MacLean is investigating a gruesome murder in suburban Cleveland when she learns that her police detective fiance has been taken hostage with six others at the Federal Reserve Bank downtown. Arriving at the scene she discovers that the police have brought in the city's best hostage negotiator: handsome, high-profile Chris Cavanaugh. He hasn't lost a case yet, but Theresa wonders if he might be too arrogant to save the day this time around. When her fiance is injured, she seizes the opportunity to trade places with him. But what initially appears to be a bank heist turns into something far more complex and deadly, and Theresa must decide how much more she is willing to sacrifice in order to save the lives of innocent people, as well as her own.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 424 pages
  • 152.4 x 223.52 x 27.94mm | 476.27g
  • Harperluxe
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Large type / large print
  • Large type / large print edition
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 0061711772
  • 9780061711770
  • 2,095,545

Review quote

"An exciting story that is hard to put down." -- Dr. Bill Bass, forensic anthropologist at the Body Farm and coauthor of The Devil's Bones
show more

Rating details

1,301 ratings
3.59 out of 5 stars
5 17% (222)
4 37% (483)
3 36% (462)
2 9% (113)
1 2% (21)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X