Taken

Taken

4.09 (1,788 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$18.80

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Isla and her brother are two young foxes living just outside the lands of the furless -- humans. The life of a fox is filled with dangers, but Isla has begun to learn mysterious skills meant to help her survive.
Then the unthinkable happens. Returning to her den, Isla finds it set ablaze and surrounded by strange foxes, and her family is nowhere in sight. Forced to flee, she escapes into the cold, gray world of the furless.
Now Isla must navigate this bewildering and deadly terrain, all while being hunted by a ruthless enemy. In order to survive, she will need to master the ancient arts of her kind -- magical gifts of cunning known only to foxes. She must unravel the secrets of foxcraft.
show more

Product details

  • 0-5
  • Hardback | 272 pages
  • 130 x 191 x 23mm | 23g
  • English
  • Prebound edition
  • Bound for Schools & Libraries ed.
  • Illustrations, unspecified
  • 0606388222
  • 9780606388221
  • 2,555,923

Review quote

Praise for Foxcraft:
* "Vivid details, intriguing characters, and a riveting plot are smoothly executed in this exciting new series. Beautifully rendered and magical." -- "Kirkus Reviews," starred review
"Iserles takes the actual habits and attributes of real foxes and mixes in magic and a complex social structure. Well-crafted fantasy of the furry kind." -- "School Library Journal"
"A new epic animal fantasy that will make you love foxes, see the furless in a whole new way, and wish you could use fox magic like slimmering, too. Perfect for fans of Warriors and Guardians of Ga'Hoole." -- Tui T. Sutherland, author of the Wings of Fire series
show more

About Inbali Iserles

Inbali Iserles is an award-winning writer and an irrepressible animal lover. She is one of the team of authors behind the New York Times bestselling Survivors series, writing under the pseudonym of Erin Hunter. Her first book, "The Tygrine Cat," won the 2008 Calderdale Children s Book of the Year Award. Together with its sequel, "The Tygrine Cat: On the Run," it was listed among "The Independent s" 50 books every child should read.
Inbali attended Sussex and Cambridge Universities. For many years she lived in central London, where a fascination with urban foxes inspired her Foxcraft trilogy. She has recently moved to Cambridge with her family, including her principal writing mascot, Michi, who looks like an Arctic fox, acts like a cat, but is in fact a dog."
show more

Rating details

1,788 ratings
4.09 out of 5 stars
5 46% (815)
4 28% (505)
3 19% (333)
2 5% (98)
1 2% (37)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X