Ta Hsueh and Chung Yung

Ta Hsueh and Chung Yung : The Highest Order of Cultivation and On the Practice of the Mean

3.75 (44 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author)  , By (author)  , By (author)  , Edited by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


Set alongside The Analects and Mencius, these two texts make up the 'Four Books' of Chinese Confucian tradition. Their depiction of the 'Way of Great Learning' focuses on the moral tenets of Confucian thinking, establishing a universal framework that links individuals with the cosmos. By drawing together key ethical and philophical, and metaphysical issues, the essays deal with the individual's development of moral character. They have long occupied a central position in the educational and political infrastructure of China, Korea and Japan, and their influence and popularity continues to grow, in the East and in the West.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 176 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 10mm | 134g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Chronological table, further reading, notes
  • 0140447849
  • 9780140447842
  • 230,604

Table of contents

Ta Hsüeh and Chung YungPreface
Chronological Table of Chinese History
Further Reading
A Note on the Translations

Ta HsüehThe Highest Order of Cultivation

Chung YungOn the Practice of the Mean

Ta Hsüeh
Structural Analysis
The Integral Argument
Reader's Notes
Chung Yung
Structural Analysis
The Integral Argument
Reader's Notes

Appendix I. Further Discussion of Basic Concepts
Appendix II. Use of Proof-texts
Appendix III. Textual History of the Ta Hsüeh and Chung Yung
show more

About Zengzi Zisi

ANDREW PLAKS is Professor of East Asian Studies at Princeton University. He has published widely on Chinese philosophy and religion. XINZHONG YAO is Professor of Religion & Ethics at the University of Wales, Lampeter.
show more

Rating details

44 ratings
3.75 out of 5 stars
5 30% (13)
4 30% (13)
3 30% (13)
2 9% (4)
1 2% (1)

Our customer reviews

This is the Penguin edition of two of the Four Books of Confucian learning, their titles respectively translated as The Highest Order of Cultivation and On the Practice of the Mean. It is a bit of a shame that Penguin chose to stick to the old Wade-Giles transliteration; in the pin-yin more often used today the titles are Daxue and Zhongyong. (Or to be pedantic, 大學 and 中庸.) Although the two books are mercifully short, I found their conservative, paternalistic world view unappealing; a society built on this philosophy could easily become stagnated. I don't have much knowledge of China, and this was probably not a good place to start broadening it.show more
by Nicholas Whyte
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X