Symptoms of Being Human

Symptoms of Being Human

4.15 (15,550 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Read by 

List price: US$59.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in über-conservative Orange County, the pressure--media and otherwise--is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school--even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast--the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created--a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in--or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be a person.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • CD-Audio
  • 168 x 155 x 30mm | 295g
  • English
  • Unabridged
  • Library Edition
  • 1504695283
  • 9781504695282

Review quote

One of the first YA books to deal with the complex issue of gender fluidity...Riley's emotional life and personal growth shed welcome light on a hitherto obscure subject.-- "Booklist (starred review)"
show more

Rating details

15,550 ratings
4.15 out of 5 stars
5 43% (6,667)
4 36% (5,587)
3 16% (2,516)
2 4% (564)
1 1% (216)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X