Symptoms of Being Human
26%
off

Symptoms of Being Human

4.16 (4,626 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers. Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in uber-conservative Orange County, the pressure--media and otherwise--is building up in Riley's life. On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school--even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast--the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created--a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in--or stand up, come out, and risk everything. From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be a person.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 335 pages
  • 135 x 213 x 30mm | 408g
  • Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
  • United States
  • English
  • 0062382861
  • 9780062382863
  • 85,137

Review quote

Riley is a smart, funny, sharp-eyed force --Publishers Weekly (starred review)"show more

Rating details

4,626 ratings
4.16 out of 5 stars
5 43% (1,974)
4 37% (1,697)
3 16% (751)
2 3% (149)
1 1% (55)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X