Sword of Rome

Sword of Rome : (Gaius Valerius Verrens 4): an enthralling, action-packed Roman adventure that will have you hooked to the very last page

4.35 (621 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Bestselling author Douglas Jackson expertly brings the Roman Empire to life in this brutal and bloody historical adventure. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow, Ben Kane and Conn Iggulden.

Readers are loving Gaius Valerius Verrens!
"Breakneck action, vivid characters, a fresh, believable perspective, and a fabulous plot with a stunning, unexpected end. Don't want to read it yet? Are you barking mad?" - 5 STARS
"A page turner that makes you want more" - 5 STARS
"I couldn't put the book down" - 5 STARS
"A cracking read" - 5 STARS
"Hugely enjoyable" - 5 STARS

******************************************************************
AMIDST THE CHAOS AND CARNAGE OF CIVIL WAR, WHERE DO A HERO'S LOYALTIES LIE?

AD 68: The Emperor Nero's erratic and bloody reign is in its death throes when Gaius Valerius Verrens is dispatched to Rome on a mission that will bring it to a close. With Nero dead, the city and the Empire hold their breath, pray for peace and await the arrival of his successor, Servius Sulpicius Galba, governor of Hispania.

But they pray in vain. Galba promises stability and prosperity, but his rule begins with a massacre and ends only months later in chaos and carnage. And so starts the Year of the Four Emperors: a time of civil war which will tear Rome apart and test Valerius's skills and loyalties to their very limit.

Fortunate to survive Galba's fall, Valerius is sent on a mission by Rome's new Emperor, Otho, to persuade his old friend Vitellius to halt his armies, stop them marching in the north and therefore prevent inevitable confrontation and disruption.

In an epic adventure that will take him the length and breadth of a divided land, the one-armed Roman fights to stay alive and stave off a bloodbath as he is stalked by the most implacable enemy he has ever faced.

Gaius Valerius Verrens's adventures continue in Enemy of Rome.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 512 pages
  • 127 x 198 x 32mm | 346g
  • Corgi Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Reissue
  • 0552167916
  • 9780552167918
  • 242,918

Review Text

Cracking...one of our finest writers.
show more

Review quote

Cracking...one of our finest writers. * Saturday (Supp to the Scottish Daily Record) * One of the best historical novelists writing today. * DAILY EXPRESS *
show more

About Douglas Jackson

A journalist by profession, Douglas Jackson transformed a lifelong fascination for Rome and the Romans in to his first two novels highly-praised novels, Caligula and Claudius. His third novel, Hero of Rome, introduced his ever-increasing number of readers to his new series hero, Gaius Valerius Verrens. Defender of Rome and Avenger of Rome followed and have won critical acclaim and confirmed Douglas as one of the UK's foremost historical novelists. An active member of the Historical Writers Association and the Historical Novels Society, He lives near Stirling in Scotland.
show more

Rating details

621 ratings
4.35 out of 5 stars
5 50% (311)
4 37% (229)
3 11% (71)
2 1% (9)
1 0% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X