Swimming for Sunlight
23%
off

Swimming for Sunlight

4.06 (421 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Read by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

When recently divorced Katie Ellis and her rescue dog Bark move back in with Katie's grandmother in Florida, she becomes swept up in a reunion of her grandmother's troupe of underwater performers--finding hope and renewal in unexpected places, in this sweet novel perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Claire Cook.Aspiring costume designer Katie gave up everything in her divorce to gain custody of her fearful, faithful rescue dog, Barkimedes. While she figures out what to do next, she heads back to Florida to live with her grandmother, Nan. But Katie quickly learns there's a lot she doesn't know about Nan--like the fact that in her youth Nan was a mermaid performer in a roadside attraction show, swimming and dancing underwater with a close-knit cast of talented women. Although most of the mermaids have since lost touch, Katie helps Nan search for her old friends on Facebook, sparking hopes for a reunion show. Katie is up for making some fabulous costumes, but first, she has to contend with her crippling fear of water. As Katie's college love Luca, a documentary filmmaker, enters the fray, Katie struggles to balance her hopes with her anxiety, and begins to realize just how much Bark's fears are connected to her own, in this thoughtful, charming novel about hope after loss and friendships that span generations.
show more

Product details

  • CD-Audio
  • 142 x 147 x 30mm | 204g
  • English
  • Unabridged
  • Unabridged
  • 1508278741
  • 9781508278740

Review quote

I dare you not to hug this book when you finish.

-- "Julie Buxbaum, New York Times bestselling author"
show more

Rating details

421 ratings
4.06 out of 5 stars
5 40% (170)
4 33% (140)
3 20% (84)
2 5% (23)
1 1% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X