The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie : A Flavia de Luce Mystery Book 1

3.8 (106,296 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$16.74

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

It is June 1950, and a sleepy English village is about to be awakened by the discovery of a dead body in Colonel de Luce's cucumber patch. The police are baffled, and when a dead snipe is deposited on the Colonel's doorstep with a rare stamp impaled on its beak, they are baffled even more. Only the Colonel's daughter, the precocious Flavia - when she's not plotting elaborate acts of revenge against her nasty older sisters in her basement chemistry laboratory, that is - has the ingenuity to follow the clues that reveal the victim's identity, and a conspiracy that reaches back into the de Luce family's murky past.Flavia and her family are brilliant creations, adding a darkly playful and wonderfully atmospheric flavour to a plot of delightful ingenuity.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 152 x 232 x 24mm | 439.98g
  • Orion Publishing Co
  • Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
  • London, United Kingdom
  • 0752891944
  • 9780752891941
  • 947,414

About Alan Bradley

Alan Bradley is a retired Director of Televison Engineering at the Media Centre of the University of Saskatchewan, where he lectured on screen writing. He is the author of the memoir, THE SHOEBOX BIBLE.show more

Review quote

Engaging, entertaining, bright and breezy; and above all, great fun! * Good Book Guide * Hilarious, eccentric and mischievous * Deadly Pleasures * It's like entering the lost world of the Mitford sisters where the girls are allowed to run completely wild * Crime Squad * At once precocious and endearing, Flavia is a marvellous character. Quirkily appealing, this is definitely a crime novel with a difference * Choice * A clever, witty and totally gripping read with lots of surprises * Essentials * Flavia is mercilessly addictive * Daily Telegraph * A breath of fresh air to the world of period-piece sleuthing * Independent * Flavia is enchanting * New York Times * Delightfully entertaining * Guardian * Certain to become a national treasure * Daily Mail * Praise for the cosy crime Flavia de Luce Mysteries - perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Midsomer Murders:The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite * Mail on Sunday *show more

Rating details

106,296 ratings
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 27% (28,715)
4 39% (41,153)
3 25% (26,139)
2 7% (7,438)
1 3% (2,851)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X