The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door

The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door

3.67 (1,279 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$16.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

"That's the day the trouble started. The trouble that nearly ruined my life. The trouble that turned me Dark. The trouble that begs me for revenge."Celia Door enters her freshman year of high school with giant boots, dark eyeliner, and a thirst for revenge against Sandy Firestone, the girl who did something unspeakable to Celia last year. But then Celia meets Drake, the cool new kid from New York City who entrusts her with his deepest, darkest secret. When Celia's quest for justice threatens her relationship with Drake, she's forced to decide which is sweeter: revenge or friendship. This debut novel from Karen Finneyfrock establishes her as a bright, bold, razor-sharp new voice for teens, perfect for fans of "The Perks of Being a Wallflower" and "Will Grayson, Will Grayson."
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 259 pages
  • 147 x 211 x 25mm | 386g
  • Penguin USA
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0670012750
  • 9780670012756
  • 1,524,127

Review quote

"Karen Finneyfrock is an amazing poet so it is no surprise that her first novel is poetic. It is also hilarious, exciting and as painful as anybody's teenage years. Read it, please." Sherman Alexie, National Book Award-Winning author of The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian Sherman Alexie, National Book Award-Winning author I loved The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door!Celia is a quirky and unique character whose journey through friendship and secrets and chocolate will stay with readers long after they close the book. Ruta Sepetys, New York Times bestselling author of Between Shades of Grey Ruta Sepetys, New York Times bestselling author of Between Shades of Gray Praise for "The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door" by Karen Finneyfrock: Finneyfrock gives Celia a drily funny voice that keeps the narrative zipping along. "Publishers Weekly" Revenge may be sweet, but the joys of friendship and following your own star prove even sweeter in this engaging novel about a creative, rebellious youngster. "Kirkus" "[Celia Door is] a memorable outsider who is articulate, funny, and brave." "School Library Journal" "Suggest this to fans of David Levithan s and A. S. King s books, as well as all teens who feel outside the frenzy of high-school social life." Booklist..".well-written, engaging, and ultimately hopeful..." "VOYA""
show more

About Karen Finneyfrock

Like Celia Door, Karen Finneyfrock grew up filling notebooks full of poems. Now, she lives in Seattle, WA where she teaches workshops on creative writing and travels to perform poetry. Karen has previously published two books of poems. This is her first novel.
show more

Rating details

1,279 ratings
3.67 out of 5 stars
5 25% (314)
4 34% (433)
3 29% (377)
2 9% (114)
1 3% (41)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X