Sweet Black Waves

Sweet Black Waves

3.81 (981 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

For fans of Graceling and The Mists of Avalon, this lush young adult fantasy about warring countries and forbidden romance will have readers entranced.

As best friend and lady-in-waiting to the princess, Branwen is guided by two principles: devotion to her homeland and hatred for the raiders who killed her parents. When she unknowingly saves the life of her enemy, he awakens her ancient healing magic and opens her heart. Branwen begins to dream of peace, but the princess she serves is not so easily convinced. Fighting for what's right, even as her powers grow, will set Branwen against her best friend and the only man she's ever loved.

Kristina Perez's debut features star-crossed lovers who changed the fate of two nations. Inspired by the legend of Tristan and Eseult, this is the story of the legend's true heroine: Branwen.

An Imprint Book

Praise for Sweet Black Waves

"The female characters are vivid, powerful, and passionate. . .a thrilling roller coaster." --Kirkus Reviews

"Set sail on a swashbuckling adventure that is lush with magic, pirates, bravery, kingdoms, love, and faith. . .Give to fans of Kristin Cashore's Graceling and Jessica Leake's Beyond a Darkened Shore." --School Library Journal
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 464 pages
  • 135 x 208 x 35.56mm | 300g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 1250309077
  • 9781250309075
  • 724,392

Review quote

"Star-crossed love, tested loyalties, and magic that binds and burns--Sweet Black Waves gripped me all the way to the shocking ending." --Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere and The Ship Beyond Time

"Intense, swoon worthy, and smart." --Vic James, author of Gilded Cage and Tarnished City

"An enchanting story of fierce friendship and dangerous love . . . P rez has written a book that whispers the sound of the ocean as you turn each page." --Alice Broadway, author of the Ink Trilogy

"Fans of Joan Wolf's Dark Ages of Britain trilogy and Tessa Gratton's The Queens of Innis Lear will enjoy this dreamy tale, which is carried along with vibrant descriptions and intense emotion." --RT Reviews

"Closes with a devastating cliff-hanger that will leave readers eager for a sequel." --Publishers Weekly
show more

About Kristina Perez

Kristina P rez is a half-Argentine/half-Norwegian native New Yorker. She has spent the past two decades working as a journalist and academic in Europe and Asia. She is the author of The Myth of Morganla Fey and holds a PhD in Medieval Literature from the University of Cambridge. Sweet Black Waves is her debut young adult novel.
show more

Rating details

981 ratings
3.81 out of 5 stars
5 28% (279)
4 37% (359)
3 25% (249)
2 7% (72)
1 2% (22)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X