The Surrogate

The Surrogate : A Novel

3.88 (2,745 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 15-20 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

A shocking double-murder scene greets Detective Inspector Philip Brennan when he is called to a flat in Colchester. Two women are viciously cut open and lying spread-eagled, one tied to the bed, one on the floor. The woman on the bed has had her stomach cut into and her unborn child is missing. But this is the third time Phil and his team have seen such an atrocity. Two other pregnant women have been killed in this way and their babies taken from them. No one can imagine what sort of person would want to commit such horrible crimes.

When psychologist Marina Esposito is brought in, Phil has to put aside his feelings about their shared past and get on with the job. But can they find the killer before another woman is targeted?
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 272 pages
  • 145 x 224 x 33mm | 448g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 1605984051
  • 9781605984056
  • 2,505,528

Review quote

"An impressive debut, an intense police procedural. Carver never crosses the line into gratuitous violence, while myriad clues and surprising twists keep the reader off-kilter. Fans of Mo Hayder, Chelsea Cain, and Karin Slaughter will find much to like." -- Publishers Weekly " A cracking read that promises to keep you up all night." -- The Sun (London) "With a plot that snares from the start, Carver's debut novel sets the crime thriller bar high." -- The Irish Examiner "A detective is shocked by the murder of a pregnant woman whose unborn child was cut out of the womb before she died. A fantastic debut." -- Marie Claire
show more

About Tania Carver

Tania Carver lives in the south of England with her husband and two children. She is the author of The Surrogate, The Creeper, and Cage of Bones, all available from Pegasus Books.
show more

Rating details

2,745 ratings
3.88 out of 5 stars
5 31% (848)
4 37% (1,006)
3 24% (660)
2 6% (163)
1 2% (68)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X