Sunwise

Sunwise : Witches, Witchfinders & Witch Trials

By (author) 
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 9-12 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

England, 1650. A sadistic witch hunter. An innocent healer and her child accused of witchcraft. Can they escape the hangman's noose?


Large Print Hardback

Filled with vengeance, John will stop at nothing in his sworn mission to free the world from the scourge of witchcraft. When his quest to vanquish evil is thwarted by Jane, he decrees that she must die.




After defeating the witchfinder, Jane must continue her dangerous healing work. Alone in a hostile and superstitious village, she struggles to keep her little girl alive.




Determined to keep his vow, the witchfinder must put mother and daughter to death. When John brings the witch hunt to Jane's home, can she save herself and her child from certain slaughter?




If you like historical novels based on real witch trials, you'll love Helen Steadman's Sunwise, the sequel to Widdershins.


Buy Sunwise to find out whether good triumphs over evil.
Spellbinding historical fiction ideal for fans of The Familiars, Tidelands and The Witchfinder's Sister.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 324 pages
  • 156 x 234 x 24mm | 590g
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • Large type / large print
  • 2nd Large type / large print edition
  • 1915421047
  • 9781915421043

Review quote

'The novel is rich in fascinating details: Jane's remedies and the village customs, partly Christian, partly pagan. Ancient names for plants and festivities, both seasonal and Christian, add colour to the narrative.'

Lynn Guest, Historical Novel Society




'A great read, not to be missed. Steadman's skillful and resplendent prose leads the reader easily into villages, manses and cottages, festivities and day-to-day lives, with amazing detail and descriptions of a past age that jump off the page of the novel. The historical research is rich; scenes and spaces, deliciously visual, and the language employed by the protagonists and throughout the narrative is authentic and consistent, transporting us back in time just by virtue of its ancient tonality.'

Susana Aikin, We Shall See The Sky Sparkling





'I was immediately immersed in the world of rural 17th Century northeast England. I can only put this down to the beauty of Steadman's writing and the precision of her plotting.'

Ted Curtis, The Darkening Light





'This follows on closely from Widdershins - not the initial plan of the writer, but the characters came and grabbed her, and you could sense it happening. Sometimes charming, sometimes disturbing, and very firmly set in its time and place - don't expect an easy ride, though!'

Lexie Conyngham, The Bear at Midnight
show more