Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow

Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow

3.98 (21,329 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$9.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

A spirited retelling, perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Donna Jo Napoli.
When a great white bear promises untold riches to her family, the Lass agrees to go away with him. But the bear is not what he seems, nor is his castle. To unravel the mystery, the Lass sets out on a windswept journey beyond the edge of the world. Based on the Nordic legend "East of the Sun, West of the Moon, "with romantic echoes of "Beauty and the Beast," this re-imagined story will leave fans of fantasy and fairy tale enchanted by Jessica Day George. A Teen Top Ten
"A vivid, well-crafted, poetic fantasy for readers . . . who are ready to move from Gail Carson Levine to more sophisticated fare." "-Booklist"
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 328 pages
  • 140 x 209 x 25mm | 318g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 1599903288
  • 9781599903286
  • 220,820

About Jessica Day George

Jessica Day George is the author of "Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow," "Dragon Slippers," and its sequel, "Dragon Flight." Originally from Idaho, she studied at Brigham Young University and lived in Delaware and New Jersey before settling down in Salt Lake City, Utah. She had been a movie store clerk, librarian, bookseller, and school office lady before she got her big break. Jessica lives with her husband, their young son, and a five-pound Maltese named Pippin in a house that needs to be vacuumed much too often.
www.JessicaDayGeorge.com
www.dragonslippers.net
show more

Rating details

21,329 ratings
3.98 out of 5 stars
5 35% (7,478)
4 36% (7,632)
3 23% (4,828)
2 5% (1,089)
1 1% (302)

Our customer reviews

The lass is the youngest of the woodcutter's children. Her mother was so upset that she had another child, let alone another girl, that she refused to even give her a name. The lass grows up, and is delighted when her older brother, Hans Peter, comes home from the sea. Hans Peter is cursed upon his return and is forever depressed, but he enjoys the lass's company and teaches her how to read the strange symbols in his wood carvings. When the lass is sixteen, rumors of an isborjn, a white polar bear, surround the village. The lass has been gifted with the ability to talk to animals. Upon hearing of this gift, the white polar bear seeks the lass out and asks her to join him at the palace of ice for one year. Hans Peter tries to argue that she can not go, but the bear promises her family riches if the lass joins him. The lass agrees and travels with him to the ice palace. While there, she meets an array of magical creatures. All seem to be under enchantments of the evil troll princess. There's also a mysterious visitor to the lass's room every evening, but she is unable to see his face or talk to the stranger, and each morning he has disappeared. Thanks to Hans Peter's carvings, the lass realizes that she can read the carvings on the wall, which tell stories of the spells and curses the troll princess has cast. When the lass's own isborjn is taken away by the troll princess, the lass must risk everything she has to find the palace East of the sun and West of the moon and break the curse upon him. A beautifully written tale of spells, magic, romance, and wit, SUN AND MOON, ICE AND SNOW is a retelling of the Nordic tale, EAST OF THE SUN, WEST OF THE MOON. Author Jessica Day George adds depth to the story and background to the characters that makes this retelling stand out on its own. The story itself is reminiscent of BEAUTY AND THE BEAST, but SUN AND MOON, ICE AND SNOW holds its own surprises. The reader will be enchanted by the story of the lass and her isborjn. This is a stunning tale that deserves to be read again and again. *Gold Star Award Winner!show more
by TeensReadToo
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X