Summoner: The Outcast
13%
off

Summoner: The Outcast : Book 4

4.22 (1,327 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

ONLY THE CHOSEN FEW HAVE THE POWER TO SUMMON DEMONS ...

The highly anticipated PREQUEL to the New York Times bestselling Summoner trilogy - an extension of the eBook novella Origins, The Outcast continues Arcturus's story in a feature length novel.

Arcturus is just an orphaned stable boy when he accidentally summons a demon. As Hominum's first common summoner, he becomes the key to a secret that the powerful nobility would do anything to keep hidden. And with rebellion simmering among the masses, the nobility is more desperate than ever to keep in control.

Arcturus is immediately whisked away to Vocans Academy where the lost arts of summoning, spell craft and demonology are taught to the noble children of the Empire. In no time, he finds himself surrounded by enemies as noble teachers and students question his right to be there.

But before he can even attempt to make friends, Arcturus unexpectedly finds himself right in the centre of the conflict, on an adventure that takes him deep into the Orc jungles, where allies and enemies are blurred. As his newfound summoner skills are put to the test, Arcturus must choose a side . . . or watch the Empire crumble.

Set before the events of SUMMONER: The Novice this is the perfect introduction to the New York Times bestselling SUMMONER series.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 416 pages
  • 211 x 249 x 35mm | 590g
  • Hodder Children's Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1444939068
  • 9781444939064
  • 127,848

Review quote

Praise for The Outcast: This prequel to the bestselling Summoner series is an excellent introduction to the world of Hominum for new readers, and a welcome "what happened before?" for fans of the trilogy. Matharu combines a tight, thrilling, page-turning battle fantasy with a sensitive consideration of class, government and corruption, and what it means to have power, both within and without wealth and privilege.Perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings, Pokemon, Skyrim and Harry Potter. * BookTrust * Brilliant and colourful...This superb story, with strong characters and a narrative which both flows with its sweeping backdrop and draws brilliant details, now deserves all the success that will come its way * The School Librarian * Influenced by Harry Potter, the Lord of the Rings and video games, it appeals to fans of all of these * The Sunday Times * Fantasy lovers will love the demonic detail * Sunday Express * Praise for The Summoner series:

The pace is so fast and so thrilling that even less than regular readers will be hooked * Guardian *
show more

About Taran Matharu

Taran was born in London in 1990 and found a passion for reading at a very early age. His love for stories developed into a desire to create his own, writing his first book at nine years old.

At twenty-two, while taking time off to travel, Taran began to write Summoner, taking part in Nanowrimo 2013. Thanks to Wattpad.com and updating daily, its popularity dramatically increased, reaching over three million reads in less than six months. After being featured by NBC News, Taran decided to launch his professional writing career and has never looked back.

The Summoner series has now been published in 15 territories and is a New York Times Bestseller. The Contender series is his second epic trilogy.
show more

Rating details

1,327 ratings
4.22 out of 5 stars
5 47% (624)
4 33% (442)
3 16% (209)
2 3% (39)
1 1% (13)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X