The Summer of Us
32%
off

The Summer of Us

3.72 (55 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Five friends. Five cities. Two complicated love stories . . . The perfect read for fans of Jennifer E Smith and Sara Barnard.

Aubrey and Rae have been planning their European tour since the moment they met. It was meant to be the perfect way to spend their last summer together before university, but now it's not just the two of them . . .

There's Jonah, Aubrey's seemingly perfect boyfriend, and Gabe, who Aubrey may have accidentally kissed. Then there's Clara, the friend Rae is crushing on, hard, even though there's no hope because Clara is into guys, not girls. And on top of all that Aubrey and Rae's friendship appears to be falling apart. Things are more complicated at eighteen than they were at ten.

Set off on a romantic adventure that embraces warm summer nights, the thrill of first kisses and the bittersweet ache of saying goodbye to the past.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 18mm | 247g
  • Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1510200797
  • 9781510200791
  • 55,611

Review Text

The atmospheric descriptions of the places they visit (and drink in), such as Amsterdam, Prague, and Florence, and the nuanced characterizations lend expansiveness to a plot that might otherwise have become a simple coming-of-age romance... A transformative odyssey of self-discovery Kirkus Reviews
show more

Review quote

This book is simply utter perfection. [...] beautiful, full of meaning, full of adventure and for me full of dreams.[...] The Summer of Us is the perfect YA contemporary of 2018 and one of the best ones I've read in a long time. * Never Judge a Book By It's Cover * The Summer of Us is a perfect Summer read, it's all about growing up, friendships, relationships and realising that life usually has other plans, no matter how much you try to plan everything out. Life always has a different idea, doesn't it? * Autumn Frost * 'Gives worn tropes a fresh new spin . . . emotions play out perfectly with the backdrop of romantic monuments, gritty bars, and elegant cafes.' * School Librarian Journal * I adore this book. It was so fun [...] The perfect book to read this summer! -- Beth * The Reader's Corner * Praise for Seven Days of You: How hard am I crushing on Seven Days Of You? I'm crying, laughing, aching, and squealing all at once. I would live in this book if I could * Becky Albertalli, author of SIMON VS THE HOMOSAPIENS AGENDA * Readers who enjoy art history are in for treat with this book. The story's setting takes on the part of a sixth character and gives worn tropes a fresh new spin. Older teens will relate to Rae and Aubrey as they are likely making some of the same life choices. The emotions play out perfectly with the backdrop of romantic monuments, gritty bars, and elegant cafes. * SLJ * The atmospheric descriptions of the places they visit (and drink in), such as Amsterdam, Prague, and Florence, and the nuanced characterizations lend expansiveness to a plot that might otherwise have become a simple coming-of-age romance... A transformative odyssey of self-discovery * Kirkus Reviews *
show more

About Cecilia Vinesse

Cecilia Vinesse was born in France but grew up between Tokyo, Japan and Greenville, South Carolina. Her obsession with Nora Ephron movies led her to New York City to attend Barnard College and then to live in New York for three years afterward, working in children's book marketing and living in an apartment furnished mostly by stacks of novels.

Now she's in the UK where she splits her time holding late-night writing sessions, daydreaming in libraries, and having Buffy the Vampire Slayer marathons with her girlfriend Rachel and a pup named Malfi. She writes books about teenagers who wander around cities and fall in love and eat really delicious food.
show more

Rating details

55 ratings
3.72 out of 5 stars
5 18% (10)
4 44% (24)
3 33% (18)
2 4% (2)
1 2% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X