The Summer of Skinny Dipping

The Summer of Skinny Dipping

3.79 (7,533 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$9.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

In this heartfelt summer read, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Mia's drama-filled family beach vacation turns into a chance at first love when the boy next door comes into the picture...

Mia just wanted a summer away to forget it all.

After Mia is unexpectedly dumped by Jake, a summer having relaxing fun with her family in the Hamptons sounds like the perfect beach escape. But her cousin Corinne's new elitist attitude is definitely not what Mia was expecting, and neither is all the family drama. Mia starts to feel more like an outsider than ever before.

Enter Simon, the boy staying next door. He's adventurous, quirky, smart, and seems to want to get to know Mia. And he's definitely not part of Corinne's "cool" crowd. Simon starts to rub off on Mia, and she finally begins to open up--including sneaking out, taking late-night walks on the beach, and maybe even falling in love. The summer might just turn out better than she had originally planned.

But coming out of her shell could mean losing everything Mia has gained.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 295 pages
  • 140 x 203 x 19mm | 390g
  • Naperville, United States
  • English
  • 1402238622
  • 9781402238628
  • 342,495

Review quote

"Overall, it was a story of love, coming of age, heartache and unfortunate events. All the elements to create a great, well-balanced novel." - La Femme Readers
show more

About Amanda Howells

AMANDA HOWELLS grew up on a small bay on the Atlantic Ocean and spent summer weekends in the Hamptons while a college student in New York City, where she studied creative writing. She has published many stories for teen and adult readers and now lives in the pacific Northwest.
show more

Rating details

7,533 ratings
3.79 out of 5 stars
5 34% (2,591)
4 28% (2,115)
3 25% (1,861)
2 9% (658)
1 4% (308)

Our customer reviews

Mia can't wait to spend the summer in the Hamptons. After all, she just got dumped and there's nothing like the beach to make everything better. Plus, she'll be with her cousin, Corinne, and they've been inseparable every time they're together. It's bound to be a fabulous time! Right away, Mia sees a big change in Corinne. Everything is "boring" to her and she would rather be anywhere else. Corinne's friend, Gen, has also been invited this summer, and Mia feels like a third wheel. Where does she fit in? Mia doesn't want to change herself for these girls and their lifestyles. She is who she is. The ocean has always welcomed her with open arms and she finds her place in the water and the beach, gazing as far as she can see. Yet she's not the only one who finds the beach to be an escape at night. Simon is different, also, and together they feel like they are on the outside looking in on the world. They spend many nights together watching the tide, sharing thoughts and dreams. When the sun comes up and they have to deal with daylight, can they still find the inner peace and strength to be themselves and not what others want them to be? This is a touching novel about falling in love, being independent, and learning to believe in yourself. It's definitely bittersweet at times but very realistic. This a terrific summer read!show more
by TeensReadToo
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X