The Summer Queen

The Summer Queen : A Novel of Eleanor of Aquitaine

4.1 (6,041 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"A magnificent woman's story told by a brilliant historical novelist; realistic, emotional, vibrant, exciting and unputdownable."--RT Book Reviews, July Top Pick

Scandal, politics, sex, triumphs, and tragedies abound in The Summer Queen, the first novel in a stunning new trilogy, perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Sharon Kay Penman

At the age of thirteen, Eleanor of Aquitaine is forced to leave everything behind, marry a man she doesn't love, and take the throne to reign as Queen of France. Eleanor's new life is full of risk--and unlimited opportunity. Barely out of childhood and faced with great scandals, fraught relationships, and forbidden love at every turn, Eleanor must use all her cunning to secure her future as one of the most powerful women in the world.

The Eleanor of Aquitaine Trilogy:
The Summer Queen (Book 1)
The Winter Crown (Book 2)
The Autumn Throne (Book 3)

Praise for The Summer Queen:
"The Summer Queen is a fabulous novel based on the most up-to-date and meticulous research. This is historical fiction at its best and I loved every page of it."--For Winter Nights: A bookish blog
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 504 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 38mm | 517g
  • Naperville, United States
  • English
  • 1402294069
  • 9781402294068
  • 121,855

Review quote

"Chadwick is extremely popular among readers of medieval historical fiction owing to her meticulous research and attention to detail. Fans of her previous novels should enjoy getting a closer look at Eleanor...while newcomers will find this to be a pleasurable introduction to Chadwick's work." - Library Journal
show more

Rating details

6,041 ratings
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 36% (2,175)
4 43% (2,593)
3 17% (1,047)
2 3% (161)
1 1% (65)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X