The Summer Palace

The Summer Palace : Volume Three of the Annals of the Chosen

3.62 (285 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$15.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


All of the world is kept in a delicate balance under the supervision of the Wizard Lord. It is his duty to govern lightly and protect his domain but if he should stray from the way of the just then it is up to the Chosen to intercede. The Chosen are the Leader, the Seer, the Swordsman, the Beauty, the Thief, the Scholar, the Archer, and the Speaker, magically infused mortal individuals who for the term of their service have only one function to remove an errant Wizard Lord. But the new Wizard Lord has now changed the playing field by neutralizing all magic in his domain, both his own and that of the Chosen, and he has successfully killed his adversaries or blocked their challenges to his omnipotence. Now on the run, Sword must work alone to restore order to their fair land and unravel the mystery of the Ninth Talisman which might be the salvation or downfall of all that is good in their well-ordered land.
"The Summer Palace "is the conclusion of "The" "Annals of the Chosen, "an epic fantasy trilogy of duty, honor, and abuse of power by the award-winning author Lawrence Watt-Evans."
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 154.94 x 231.14 x 25.4mm | 249.47g
  • Tor Books
  • New York
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 076537689X
  • 9780765376893

Review quote

If you like swords, sorcery, and interplay between characters, this is the book for you. "SFRevu" Fans of Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman's Dragonlance saga will find this series much to their taste. "Publishers Weekly" The deliberately archetypal Chosen are not without individual character, thanks to Watt-Evans' dry wit, and the Wizard Lord isn't a standard magical potentate. "Booklist" Veteran SF and fantasy author Watt-Evans displays his command of the fantasy genre in this fast-paced, fluidly told sequel to "The Wizard Lord." "Library Journal""
show more

About Lawrence Watt-Evans

LAWRENCE WATT-EVANS has been a full-time writer for more than thirty years, with more than forty novels and well over a hundred short stories to his credit. His story "Why I Left Harry's All-Night Hamburgers" won the 1988 Hugo Award for short story, as well as the Asimov's Readers Award, but he is probably best known for the Ethshar fantasy series. He lives in Takoma Park, Maryland, with his wife and the obligatory writer's cat.
show more

Rating details

285 ratings
3.62 out of 5 stars
5 19% (55)
4 37% (106)
3 32% (92)
2 9% (27)
1 2% (5)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X