The Summer of Jordi Perez (And the Best Burger in Los Angeles)
15%
off

The Summer of Jordi Perez (And the Best Burger in Los Angeles)

4.21 (276 ratings by Goodreads)
Original author 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Follows an LGBTQ girl trying to make waves in the fashion industry by running a plus-sized fashion blog as she begins to take her first steps in her career, until she falls for her competition, Jordi, a photographer who also wants to work in fashion.


These characters represent real teens dealing with real issues like, body image, self-worth, sexuality, diversity, and career goals. Teens will relate to that and appreciate seeing characters that reflect themselves and the problems they face.


Perfect for fans of The Duff and Dumplin', two YA novels about plus-sized girls. The Duff was made into a movie in 2016 ($4.3 million in the box office).
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 284 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 27.94mm | 385.55g
  • Sky Pony Press
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1510727663
  • 9781510727663
  • 53,847

Review quote

"The summer's hottest queer teen romance." --Entertainment Weekly "This book is funny, empowering, and romantic, without downplaying the role of platonic friendships. And to the fat girls who are sidelined in almost every romantic comedy? It's a love letter." --Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

"The Summer of Jordi Perez is a confectionary delight. From lovely romantic date nights to secret makeout sessions to utterly relatable friend drama, this is the happy queer-girl romance I've been longing for since I knew enough to long for happy queer-girl romance." --Robin Talley, New York Times bestselling author of Lies We Tell Ourselves

"This book is the queer, fat girl rom-com of my dreams! Plus-size fashion, a fat girl falling in love, nuanced friendships, and cheeseburgers! Did I mention cheeseburgers?" --Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin'

"You'll want to go shopping with Abby. You'll obsessively need to sample every cheeseburger in town. You might even plan a foodie-fashion-fun times vacation in L.A. But most importantly, you'll fall in love with The Summer of Jordi Perez. Just like I did." --Gretchen McNeil, author of Ten and I'm Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl

"Amy Spalding is the funniest YA contemporary writer out there." --Hey YA Book Riot Podcast

[*] "Funny, full of heart, and refreshingly free of a weight-loss arc." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Abby's journey is a vehicle for highlighting the dangers of negative self-perception in any relationship or endeavor. . . Finally able to appreciate her talents, she discovers support and care rather than criticism. Shopping, humor, and summer romance add to the appeal of the story." --VOYA

"Sweet and delightful." --School Library Journal

"A deceptively fun and breezy novel that gracefully delineates the difference between dreaming about a relationship and actually having one. . . . The story moves along effortlessly. This is a book you don't want to miss a word of. . . . A treat with a heroine who's not easily forgotten." --Foreword Reviews

"It's about the painful fizzy joy of a new crush, about the solidity and support we get from platonic friendships, about feeling lost when family dynamics change." --Leila Roy, feature for Kirkus Reviews

"Spalding is back with another bubbly and fun-loving protagonist, similar to the leading ladies in her Kissing Ted Callahan (and Other Guys) (2015) and The New Guy (and Other Senior Year Distractions) (2016). Abby finds herself having a summer full of surprises when she starts dating Jordi Perez, her fellow intern at the summer job of her dreams, and helping her new friend Jax rate a bunch of burger joints in L.A. for his father's soon-to-launch app. A plus-size fashion blogger, Abby proclaims to everyone that she is comfortable with her body, but doesn't like to look at pictures of herself or post them online. As Jordi turns the camera on her, Abby slowly begins the journey to complete self-love that will lay the foundation for a deeper romantic love. Abby will connect with readers who appreciate the realistic and natural love story between the two girls, and with anyone who's ever struggled to feel comfortable in his or her own skin." --Booklist "This is easily one of the funniest YA novels you'll read all year - maybe ever."--Paste on The New Guy

"Spalding excels at creating flawed characters whose own issues and mistakes propel the plot forward...this book will appeal to those who want a gentle high school drama with a touch of romance."--School Library Journal on The New Guy

"Amy Spalding has a knack for capturing the messiness of family in a way that feels as familiar and comforting as a pair of perfectly worn jeans or favorite pair of flip flops."--Trish Doller, author of Where the Stars Still Shine on Ink is Thicker Than Water

"Spalding's funny and charming writing will have readers flying through the pages. Readers will absolutely connect with these lovable characters."--Buzzfeed
show more

About Amy Spalding

Amy Spalding has a B.A. in advertising and marketing communications from Webster University, and an M.A. in media studies from the New School. Amy studied longform improv at the Upright Citizens Brigade Theatre. By day, she manages the digital media team for an indie film advertising agency. By later day and night, Amy writes, performs, and pets as many cats as she can. She grew up in St. Louis, but now lives in the better weather of Los Angeles.
show more

Rating details

276 ratings
4.21 out of 5 stars
5 39% (109)
4 45% (124)
3 14% (39)
2 1% (2)
1 1% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X