Suffering & Rest

Suffering & Rest

4.5 (2 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


A man who has lost his family and his reason for living visits a shaman as his last hope to discover the purpose of life. Instead of offering him answers or platitudes, the shaman begins to tell him strange stories, of ghosts who play drinking games, the suffering of grass, and the ways that many beings discover a reason to move forward despite breathtaking loss. It's Good To Be On Earth is a tender story that sits down in the middle of suffering and offers no more than understanding and compassion, and no less than a dry humor, ambitious hope and a glimpse at many lives that were more than what they seemed. Told in a layered shamanic storytelling style, It's Good To Be On Earth is a unique story of one man's search for a shred of hope. Shane wakes up in a Spanish villa, and the gardener tells her she is in a room of heaven. She is more inclined to believe she has been the victim of a stalking and kidnapping. She can only remember snippets of her life, and the gardener is taking his time in telling her why. But when she dreams her way through an ocean and wakes up drowning in the fountain, and the flowers dust off a place for her to sit down--when the gardener reveals an inexplicable collection of her fondest childhood possessions, which her mother threw away--Shane knows she needs to find answers. The answers she looks for, in the rooms of the great house and down the paths of the garden, are the ones every wandering, wounded heart is not sure it can find, in Visions In Love & Rest. Suffering & Rest is a collection of two novelettes that explore the depths and heights of loss and healing, in the tender, imaginative style Dreaming Novelist Laura K. Cowan has become known for. You will find no cheap answers here. Only stories of people so wounded by their lives that the only answer can be death or something so soaringly optimistic that it heals the heart.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 202 pages
  • 127 x 203.2 x 11.68mm | 281.23g
  • United States
  • English
  • black & white illustrations
  • 1514113422
  • 9781514113424

About Laura K Cowan

Laura K. Cowan is a visionary fantasy author whose imaginative stories explore the connections between the spiritual and natural worlds. Her work has been compared to that of acclaimed fantasy and sci-fi authors Ursula K. Le Guin and Ray Bradbury, but her stark and lovely stories retain a distinctly spiritual flavor. Laura's debut novel The Little Seer was hailed by reviewers and readers as "riveting," "moving and lyrical." Her second novel, a redemptive ghost story titled Music of Sacred Lakes, and her first short story collection, The Thin Places: Supernatural Tales of the Unseen, received rave reviews, and Music of Sacred Lakes also topped the Kindle free bestseller lists during its launch, including #42 on all of Kindle downloads on Amazon. Laura's work also appears in a number of anthologies, including Shades of Fear, Sins of the Past, Pick Your Poison: A Faery Tale Therapy Anthology, and Darkly Never After. You can find Laura on Facebook, Goodreads, Pinterest and Twitter, or connect with her at laurakcowan[at] or on her website
show more

Rating details

2 ratings
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 50% (1)
4 50% (1)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X