Such Freedom, If Only Musical

Such Freedom, If Only Musical : Unofficial Soviet Music During the Thaw

4.25 (8 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


Following Stalin's death in 1953, during the period now known as the Thaw, Nikita Khrushchev opened up greater freedoms in cultural and intellectual life. A broad group of intellectuals and artists in Soviet Russia were able to take advantage of this, and in no realm of the arts was this perhaps more true than in music. Students at Soviet conservatories were at last able to use various channels-many of questionable legality-to acquire and hear music that had previously been forbidden, and visiting performers and composers brought young Soviets new sounds and new compositions. In the 1960s, composers such as Andrey Volkonsky, Edison Denisov, Alfred Schnittke, Arvo Part, Sofia Gubaidulina, and Valentin Silvestrov experimented with a wide variety of then new and unfamiliar techniques ranging from serialism to aleatory devices, and audiences eager to escape the music of predictable sameness typical to socialist realism were attracted to performances of their new and unfamiliar creations. This "unofficial" music by young Soviet composers inhabited the gray space between legal and illegal.
Such Freedom, If Only Musical traces the changing compositional styles and politically charged reception of this music, and brings to life the paradoxical freedoms and sense of resistance or opposition that it suggested to Soviet listeners. Author Peter J. Schmelz draws upon interviews conducted with many of the most important composers and performers of the musical Thaw, and supplements this first-hand testimony with careful archival research and detailed musical analyses. The first book to explore this period in detail, Such Freedom, If Only Musical will appeal to musicologists and theorists interested in post-war arts movements, the Cold War, and Soviet music, as well as historians of Russian culture and society.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 408 pages
  • 162 x 236 x 28mm | 698.53g
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 10 halftones, 46 line illustrations
  • 0195341937
  • 9780195341935

Review quote

Beautifully produced, engagingly and lucidly written, and argued with confidence and sensitivity. * Phillip Ross Bullock, Wadham College, Oxford *
show more

About Peter J. Schmelz

Peter J. Schmelz is Assistant Professor of Music at Washington University in St. Louis. His primary area of interest is twentieth-century music (and especially music after 1945), with a focus on the music produced in the Soviet Union, including that by Shostakovich and Schnittke. He received a 2004 National Endowment for the Humanities Summer Stipend, and is Chair and founder of the American Musicological Society's Cold War and Music Study
show more

Table of contents

Note on transliteration ; 1. Introduction ; 2. The Dam Bursts: The First and Second Conservatories ; 3. Andrey Volkonsky and the Beginnings of "Unofficial" Music ; 4. From "Young" to "Unofficial": Denisov's Sun of the Incas ; 5. "Unofficial" Venues, Performers, and Audiences ; 6. From Abstraction to Mimesis, from Control to Freedom: Part, Schnittke, Silvestrov, Gubaidulina ; 7. Denisov's Laments, Volkonsky's Rejoinder ; 8. Conclusion: The Farewell Symphony ; Epilogue: Reflections on Memory and Nostalgia ; Appendices ; Bibliography ; Index
show more

Rating details

8 ratings
4.25 out of 5 stars
5 38% (3)
4 50% (4)
3 12% (1)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X