Stravinsky the Music-maker

Stravinsky the Music-maker : Writings, Prints and Drawings

By (author)  , By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


Stravinsky the Music-Maker is the third incarnation of a book that has been greeted with superlatives on each previous appearance. Hans Keller and Milein Cosman collaborated down the decades of their married life, Keller's pen analysing music, Cosman's catching its makers at work. Stravinsky was a source of fascination for them both, and their Stravinsky at Rehearsal appeared in 1962, to be expanded, two decades later, as Stravinsky Seen and Heard. Stravinsky the Music-Maker offers the most generous compilation of their work yet: it includes Keller's complete articles on Stravinsky, written between 1954 and 1980, and augments Cosman's celebrated prints and drawings with a number not previously published. The introduction, by the composer Hugh Wood, sites the Keller-Cosman partnership in the framework of the British musical life they enriched.HANS KELLER (1919-85) fled Austria in 1938 and became a commanding critical voice in British music journalism and on the BBC from the end of the war until his death.He is the author of numerous books, many illustrated by his wife Milein Cosman, including Criticism (Faber), The Great Haydn String Quartets/ (Dent), Essays on Music (CUP), Jerusalem Diary, Film Music and Beyond and Music and Psychology (all Plumbago). A critic of insight and integrity throughout his life, he remains a powerful influence to this more

Product details

  • Hardback | 242 pages
  • 160 x 236 x 28mm | 721.21g
  • Toccata Press
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • New.
  • 100, 100 line drawing
  • 0907689698
  • 9780907689690
  • 1,474,214

Review quote

Now there is more than ever to provide insight into the variety, profundity, breadth and genius... of Stravinsky's work. It's meticulously-produced, well-indexed, closely annotated and referenced. ... (a) useful and recommendable book which you should certainly consider adding to your collection if you are interested in Stravinsky's work at all. CLASSICAL.NETshow more