The Strange Maid

The Strange Maid

3.97 (483 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 6 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Fans of Neil Gaiman and Holly Black will embrace the richly drawn, Norse-influenced alternate world of the United States of Asgard, where cell phones, rock bands, and evangelical preachers coexist with dragon slaying, rune casting, and sword training in schools. Where the president runs the country alongside a council of Valkyries, gods walk the red carpet with Hollywood starlets, and the U.S. military has a special battalion dedicated to eradicating Rocky Mountain trolls. Signy Valborn was seven years old when she climbed the New World Tree and met Odin Alfather, who declared that if she could solve a single riddle, he would make her one of his Valkyrie. For ten years Signy has trained in the arts of war, politics, and leadership, never dreaming that a Greater Mountain Troll might hold the answer to the riddle, but that's exactly what Ned the Spiritless promises her. A mysterious troll hunter who talks in riddles and ancient poetry, Ned is a hard man to trust. Unfortunately, Signy is running out of time. Accompanied by an outcast berserker named Soren Bearstar, she and Ned take off across the ice sheets of Canadia to hunt the mother of trolls and claim Signy's destiny.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 380 pages
  • 140 x 216 x 20mm | 440g
  • English
  • 1070161225
  • 9781070161228
  • 1,515,863

Rating details

483 ratings
3.97 out of 5 stars
5 36% (175)
4 35% (169)
3 22% (104)
2 5% (24)
1 2% (11)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X