Stop Pretending

Stop Pretending : What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy

3.89 (4,337 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$14.89

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

One night her sister goes crazy
One night her world falls apartIt happens just like that, in the blink of an eye. An older sister has a mental breakdown and has to be hospitalized. A younger sister is left behind to cope with a family torn apart by grief and friends who turn their backs on her. But worst of all is the loss of her big sister, her confidante, her best friend.In the tradition of The Bell Jar, and I Never Promised You a Rose Garden, comes this haunting first book, inspired by the true story of the author's life. It's an intense and brutally honest story, told in a succession of powerful poems that take us into the cyclone of the narrator's emotions: grief, anger, guilt, resentment, horror, and ultimately, acceptance 2000 Best Books for Young Adults (ALA)2000 Quick Picks for Young Adults (Recomm. Books for Reluctant Young Readers)
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Hardback | 149 pages
  • 122 x 199 x 18mm | 259g
  • United States
  • English
  • 0060283866
  • 9780060283865

Black Friday Deals Week

Check out this week's discounts for Black Friday Deals Week. Shop now .

Rating details

4,337 ratings
3.89 out of 5 stars
5 34% (1,454)
4 32% (1,400)
3 25% (1,104)
2 7% (311)
1 2% (68)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X