The Stars of Whistling Ridge

The Stars of Whistling Ridge

4.17 (183 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 6-9 business days.
Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

This enchanting story about magic, family, and the meaning of home from the award-winning author of Where the Watermelons Grow is perfect for fans of Corey Ann Haydu and Natalie Lloyd.

Ivy Mae Bloom is almost thirteen years old, her name is almost a complete sentence, and her family's RV is almost a home. That's one too many "almosts" for Ivy. She desperately wants a place to put down roots, but it's her mama's job as a fallen star to tend the magic underpinning the world--a job that's kept Ivy's family living on the road since before Ivy was born.

After Ivy steals Mama's entire supply of wish jars in the hopes of finding a place to call home, disaster strands her family in Whistling Ridge, North Carolina, with Mama's star sisters. Ivy falls for Whistling Ridge immediately--she just needs to convince her parents to stay.

But something is draining the magic from the town, and the star sisters can't pinpoint it. Ivy and her new friends find a clue in Whistling Ridge's history that might explain the mysterious threat...but if Whistling Ridge's magic is fixed, Mama will need to move on. Ivy is faced with an impossible decision: How can she help the star sisters lift the curse if it means losing her best chance at a forever home?
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 400 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 32mm | 460g
  • HarperCollins Publishers
  • United States
  • English
  • 0063006413
  • 9780063006416
  • 1,474,986

Review quote

Delightfully voice-y and atmospheric, The Stars of Whistling Ridge is a gentle and magical story about family and the true meaning of home.--Jasmine Warga, Newbery Honor-winning author of Other Words for Home
show more

Rating details

183 ratings
4.17 out of 5 stars
5 39% (72)
4 43% (78)
3 15% (27)
2 3% (5)
1 1% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X