Starless

Starless

4.08 (2,125 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Jacqueline Carey is back with an amazing adventure not seen since her New York Times bestselling Kushiel's Legacy series. Lush and sensual, Starless introduces us to an epic world where exiled gods live among us, and a hero whose journey will resonate long after the last page is turned.

I was nine years old the first time I tried to kill a man...

Destined from birth to serve as protector of the princess Zariya, Khai is trained in the arts of killing and stealth by a warrior sect in the deep desert; yet there is one profound truth that has been withheld from him.

In the court of the Sun-Blessed, Khai must learn to navigate deadly intrigue and his own conflicted identity...but in the far reaches of the western seas, the dark god Miasmus is rising, intent on nothing less than wholesale destruction.

If Khai is to keep his soul's twin Zariya alive, their only hope lies with an unlikely crew of prophecy-seekers on a journey that will take them farther beneath the starless skies than anyone can imagine.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 592 pages
  • 163 x 242 x 44mm | 841g
  • Tor Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0765386828
  • 9780765386823
  • 305,340

Review quote

Praise for Starless

"Carey is at the peak of her luminous storytelling powers in a tale that will appeal to readers of Brandon Sanderson and Patrick Rothfuss, while its thought-provoking look at gender, love, and sexual preference bring to mind Ursula K. LeGuin's The Left Hand of Darkness."--Booklist (starred)

"Carey handles themes of duty, love, and identity with tenderness and fortitude, never pigeonholing her protagonists, and the tapestry of her characters elevates this novel above its peers."--Publishers Weekly (starred)

"Fans of world-building powerhouses such as Rhoda Belleza and Garth Nix will be in awe of Carey's stand-alone epic."--Library Journal

"A unique story that asks serious questions about identity, fate and honor and it will appeal to fantasy fans who appreciate in-depth character exposition."--RT (4 stars)

"On ample display here are Carey's impressive worldbuilding skills."--Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Jacqueline Carey

"A complex saga worthy of the field's best writer on such a scale, George R. R. Martin."--Locus on Kushiel's Dart

"Stunning, clever, sultry and mysterious, Phedre is an ideal and original heroine."--The Associated Press on Kushiel's Dart

"The heroine reminds one of an equally strong-minded sister whose home was Tara."--Publishers Weekly, starred review, on Kushiel's Dart

"Carey's lush, sensuous prose again makes her heroine's story a savory feast for mind and heart."--Booklist, starred review, on Kushiel's Avatar
show more

About Jacqueline Carey

JACQUELINE CAREY is the author of the New York Times bestselling Kushiel's Legacy series of historical fantasy novels, The Sundering epic fantasy duology, postmodern fables "Santa Olivia" and "Saints Astray," and the Agent of Hel contemporary fantasy series. Carey lives in western Michigan.
show more

Rating details

2,125 ratings
4.08 out of 5 stars
5 38% (810)
4 39% (835)
3 17% (367)
2 4% (83)
1 1% (30)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X