The Guardian Herd
28%
off

The Guardian Herd : Starfire

4.29 (780 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The first book in a gripping new tween fantasy series about winged horses--perfect for fans of the Warriors, Survivors, and Guardians of Ga'Hoole series.

Once every hundred years, a black foal is born, prophesied to either unite or destroy the five herds of flying horses that live in Anok--fated to become the most powerful pegasus in all of the land.

Star is this black foal.

Even though Star has malformed wings that make him unable to fly, the leaders of each herd will take no risks and want to execute Star before his first birthday. With the help of his friends, Star must escape the clutches of the powerful leaders, and his epic journey of self-discovery turns into a battle between good and evil that will keep readers eagerly turning the pages.
show more

Product details

  • 0-5
  • Hardback | 245 pages
  • 149.86 x 210.82 x 27.94mm | 362.87g
  • HarperCollins
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062286064
  • 9780062286062
  • 1,535,567

Back cover copy

Once every hundred years, a black pegasus foal is born. But its uncertain destiny will forever change the five herds of flying horses that live in Anok. For this foal will either unite or destroy the herds--and is fated to become the most powerful pegasus in the land.

Star is this black foal.

With malformed wings that make him unable to fly, Star seems harmless enough. But the prophecy is looming, and the leaders of each herd will take no risks. They will execute Star before the prophecy can take effect on his first birthday.

With threats from all the herds, including his own, and nowhere to hide, Star must rely on his small group of friends. But it's his own strength from within that will surprise him, no matter what the future may hold.

Perfect for fans of Warriors and Survivors, this first book in a thrilling new series will keep readers quickly turning the pages as they follow Star on his epic journey.
show more

Review quote

"From page one, Jennifer Lynn Alvarez weaves an epic tale of a doomed black Pegasus foal named Star, whose race against time will lift the reader on the wings of destiny and danger, magic and hope. It's a world I did not want to leave, and neither will you."--Peter Lerangis, New York Times bestselling author in the 39 Clues series and of the Seven Wonders series
show more

Rating details

780 ratings
4.29 out of 5 stars
5 56% (434)
4 25% (194)
3 14% (113)
2 4% (29)
1 1% (10)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X