Spitfire

Spitfire : A Livy Nash Mystery

3.72 (304 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 6-9 business days.


Not ordering to /external/GR/13041514? Click here.

Description

A page-turning new historical mystery for fans of Susan Elia MacNeal's Maggie Hope series and Kate Quinn's The Alice Network.

How far would you go for vengeance?

It's V-E Day 1946 in London. World War II is long over, and former spy Livy Nash is celebrating with her third drink before noon. She went to war to kill Nazis. Dropped behind enemy lines as a courier, she quickly became one of the toughest agents in France. But her war ended with betrayal and the execution of the man she loved. Now, Livy spends her days proofreading a demeaning advice column for little ladies at home, and her nights alone with black market vodka.

But everything changes when she meets the infamous Ian Fleming. The man who will create the world's most sophisticated secret agent has an agenda of his own and sends Livy back to France with one task: track down the traitor who killed the only man she ever loved. Livy jumps at the chance, heading back to Paris undercover as a journalist. But the City of Lights is teeming with spies, and Livy quickly learns just how much the game has changed. With enemies on every corner and ever-shifting alliances, she'll have to learn to fight a new war if she wants to conquer the past once and for all.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 1 pages
  • 139 x 209 x 30.48mm | 362.87g
  • United States
  • English
  • 1643852450
  • 9781643852454
  • 2,620,907

Review quote

Praise for Spitfire:
[A] spirited debut and series launch...Vibrant characters, international intrigue, gritty action, and a wittily acerbic Ian Fleming, too--who could ask for more?
--Publishers Weekly, starred review

This debut is more emotional than Fleming's own Bond novels...Nash is a welcome new protagonist who will be welcomed by fans of Kate Atkinson's Transcription (2018) and Simon Mawer's Tightrope (2015).
--Booklist

"A deftly penned and simply riveting read with more unexpected plot twists and turns than a Disneyland roller coaster."
--Midwest Book Review

"Huie's taut spy thriller takes the reader to a Britain and France where the wounds of war are both deep and fresh . . . An auspicious debut."
--Charlie Lovett, New York Times bestselling author of The Bookman's Tale

"Post WWII London and Paris serve as a backdrop for a gutsy, damaged heroine who matches wits with a dangerous new enemy. A riveting page-turner!"
--Dianne Freeman, author of the award-winning Countess of Harleigh mystery series

Huie writes with dry, cracking wit and unflinching heart . . . Filled with intrigue, betrayal, heartache, and danger, Spitfire is a debut not to be missed.
--Meghan Holloway, author of Once More Unto the Breach

Gritty and glamorous, Spitfire races through the streets of post-war London and Paris in a twisting story of intrigue and betrayal . . . Livy Nash is exactly my kind of heroine.
--Julia Kelly, author of The Light Over London

Meticulously researched with a twisty, compelling plot and a heroine that you root for from the first page, Spitfire combines all the elements of great historical fiction."
--Jane Healey, author of The Beantown Girls

[An] intriguing tale of revenge and redemption.
--D.M. Quincy, author of the Atlas Catesby mysteries

Huie has created a hard-bitten, hard-core heroine in Livy Nash, and a perfectly noir spy thriller.
--Alisa Smith, author of the Lena Stillman series

"If you're a fan of espionage thrillers, you'll love Spitfire. . . A fantastic debut novel."
--Jeanne M. Dickson, author of Grounded Hearts

An old-fashioned mystery shot through with tragedy; for aficionados of the glamour and romance of spycraft.
--Kirkus Reviews

"Satisfying to the very end...A good book and the start of a good series."
--New York Journal of Books

If you're after a riveting spy thriller with the added bonuses of an intrepid female protagonist, a fascinating historical setting, and a nuanced depiction of challenging ethical decisions, Spitfire will be a winner.
--BookTrib

"An excellent debut novel...Doesn't get much better than this."
--Red Carpet Crash
show more

About M. L. Huie

M. L. Huie is a writer, teacher and actor. In addition to working ten years as a features journalist he has written several plays that have been performed throughout the US and in the UK. Like Livy Nash he loves the northwest of England and has a Yank's appreciation for a good Lancashire Hot Pot. Spitfire is his first novel.
show more

Rating details

304 ratings
3.72 out of 5 stars
5 23% (70)
4 37% (112)
3 30% (92)
2 9% (26)
1 1% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X